what an ending !!!!


Advertisement
Asia
April 15th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So my flight home took off from Singapore, on time, 13 hours later and I'd be back in the warm boosom of Blighty ............. or so you would think ..............However, a volcano in Iceland decided to erupt and spew ash into the atmosphere ......... no this is not a late april fool, but reality. Let me tell you my tale.

All was well for 11 hours, I'd watched two films, ate two meals, drank numerous drinks, read several chapters of my book "the life of Pi" when there seemed to be a bit of a comotion a few rows infront of me, I thought someone had been taken ill as lots of people seemed to be crouded around one woman. A flight attendant was called over and I lip read her saying "the captain will make an announcement very soon" so i presumed it would be the "is there a super nurse on board?" obviously I was dusting off my stethescope and warming my hands. I asked someone what was the matter and she said
"you're not going to believe this but theres been an Icelandic volcanic eruption, and Heathrow and Gatwick are both closed and flights are being diverted" My initial thought was, oh well maybe we'll land in Bristol. Lots of musing was going around the aircaraft as people started to read the news on the tv news update on the tv screens.

After about 30 mins there was a "this is your captain speaking I have an important announcment to make" He told us about the volcano and said we have clearance to land in Paris - I turned to the woman sitting next to me and laughed, "god for a minute I thought he said Paris !!! She looked straight at me and said " he did say Paris"

So you can imagine what it was like ... PARIS !!! PARIS !!! how will we get back to London ???

As it happens Singapore Airlines were fantastic, they said we had 2 choices, either get a coach back to london that would take about 6 hours, or stay overnight in a hotel and they would see what they could do the next morning. As i needed to get home and see my gilrs ASAP I decided to take the first option as did about half people on the plane. So after 2 hours waiting about we all piled onto the coach and took the Eurostar to London, it took about 8 hours driving and we arrived at just before 1am.
Along the way i was intouch with Nick who bless him said he was going to drive to London and pick me up so i didnt have any more waiting around .............. god I love that boy !!!!!

And big surprise was Joanne came to meet me too !!!! yipppeeee bless her we got home at about 4.30am and she was up for work 2 hours later !!!!!!!!!

So there we have it 5 1/2 weeks travelling the East coast of Australia, 11 stops, thousands of miles, met lots of lovely people and a fantastic time all thats left for me to say is "thanks for reading" and .................night night its bed time for me .................. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Advertisement



20th April 2010

Home Sweet Home
Good to have you home. Wondered how you were getting on, what with the volcano and everything! Catch up soon Deb x

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb