Varkala


Advertisement
Asia
February 8th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, just writing from sunny Varkala! Sorry about the lack of photos but it takes too long to upload them now that I am out of the office. Maybe if i find a cheap internet place I will put some up at some point. I can't remember exactly where I left off in my last blog, but basically after I left Madurai, I took a bus to Kovalam on the coast where I stayed for two days. I met two Swiss people, a brother and sister just a bit older than me who were planning on heading to Varkala, so I travelled up the coast with them and actually we went to the same hotel and have spent a lot of time together. The boy, Sandy, hardly speaks English, only French, which has been great for me as I really have had a lot of practice talking to him. Varkala is a beautiful place, the main beach is really long and has nice sand and clear water, and behind it are massive cliffs, which are great as they stop all the touristy development from runing the actual beach. There is a temple to see too which I have visited it. Most of the hotels and places to eat, shops etc are on this cliff, and it is quite pricey, but I have a had a good time here. I have met some great people, from all over the world - some are quite odd, such as one guy from scandanavia somewhere who lives in a forrest with no running water and says its normal for him not to meet anyone for a week! I've spent a lot of time with a guy from Finland, who is really cool, and has given me tons of good travel advice and life advice!
The days have gone very quickly here,though it doesnt feel like i have done too much. I have done a fair bit of reading, and I've bought some philosophy and psycology books to read as they looked interesting...but they may prove a bit hard work! I've also done some writing which has been nice. Today I found a quiet palm grove, which was a good place to sit and think. I'm quite burnt so I'm avoiding the sun for the moment.
The room I was staying here was actually a wooden hut, but a nice hut, it had a bathroom and everything and I was very pleased with it...that was until I realised I was sharing it with someone else...a rat! In fact ratty decided to make camp in my bag! I decided to move rooms, although this Finnish guy told me he spent a week with a rat in his hut further up the coast!
I am planning on leaving here tomorrow, and going to Cochin. I don't particularly want to stay a night there as its quite pricey and by all accounts you can do it in a day and then I want to catch a sleeper train to Gokarna, which sounds like a really hippy relaxed place, where people go for a few days but end up staying for a month! I'll be ready to change my flights if need be! I will try and cut inland a bit to do some sight seeing, but I'm enjoying meeting people and experiencing different things as much as seeing things to be honest. But first of all I have to work out how to get to these places...thats a job for this evening I think...
Missing everyone
C
xxx

Advertisement



8th February 2010

Hello Mr. Charles Hatfield I'm Jane. I study in Naresuan University from Thailand. I want to interviwe with you about your travel, because I interest your blog so much. If you can interview with me. You can contact me at smart_349@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb