Varkala - Kochi - Gokarna


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
February 14th 2010
Published: February 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, hope all is well! Sorry for the lack of contact recently but where I am there has been very limited internet. Just to fill you in on what has happened since I left Varkala. I took a train to Kochi quite early in the morning, which was cool, as I met some nice people. It was pretty packed, so we were sat up above the crowds with all the luggage! When we got to Kochi, I decided I wouldn't spend a night there, as with the exception of Mumbai, it seems to be one of the most expensive places to stay in India, and also you can see most of the city in an afternoon. I left my bags at a hotel of some friends that I made on the train, and went to Fort Cochin on a ferry. Its a really striking port, with very influenced architecture, as a result of its being a colonial trading port. The main highlight on Fort Cochin are the Chinese Fishing Nets, which are really cool. I was walking a long and some fisherman called me over as they were one man short to pull in the net, so I actually got to help pull in the fish!
That night I took a train to Kumta, from where I would get a bus to Gokarna town. The only issue with the train was that all seats and beds were sold out (Indian trains seem to get booked up weeks in advance) so if I was to travel, I would have to do so in unreserved class (basically standing in a really packed carriage). The ticket seller advised against it, as did some very hardened looking backpackers, but I thought I would do it anyway. I managed to make friends with an Indian guy, not much older than me, on the station platform, and he told me to come into his carriage where there would be space to sit for a few stops, and then if the conductor didn't mind, I could sleep there on the floor. So that was what I did, and it all worked well. Now I have been in Gokarna for four days, staying on Kudle beach. I will write a separate blog on Gokarna, but its a really incredible place. I met some really nice people here, but they are leaving today unfortunately, so I will try to meet some others today. If I keep meeting good people, I could potentially stay here until I leave India.
Looking forward to news from home/
Charles
x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.2424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb