Gokarna


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Gokarna
February 17th 2010
Published: February 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,
I'm still in Gokarna, and to be honest I'm not too sure that I will leave here! I'm really enjoying the vibe of the place. Gokarna is an important Hindu centre in Karnataka, but its quite a small town, and really accessible and relaxed. Near to the town are four amazing beaches, Kudle, Om, Paradise and Half Moon. Its about a twenty minute hard walk to Kudle from town and further onto the others (thought there is a road to Om). I walked along Kudle beach and found a guest house with some free huts, and the guesthouse is very nice so I decided to base myself here, although I may possibly move to a different beach at some point. My hut is cool - although I share with a lot of wildlife!
The beaches are amazing, and the weather has been great so far. Om beach is amazing to look at, its worth looking up a picture of it - it looks just like the symbol Om. Although the beaches are really nice, and the weather is good its not the only reason why I want to stay here a while. The atmosphere here is amazing. There is a really hippy feel to the place, and I've met lots of cool people, and rather than be on the road again, (as I will be a lot in South East Asia), I'm enjoying having the chance just to sit and read and write, and think a bit.
Its not all totally quiet here though. It was Shiva's birthday festival last week and there was a big procession in town where men pulled a huge carriage (at least 15 metres tall) through the streets, whilst everyone pelted it with bananas! It was crazy! Stuff also goes on on the beaches. The night before Valentines day, people were sitting in big circles on the beach sending love out into the atmosphere! Last night we went to a place on the rocks just a bit out to sea to listen to a jam with instruments from all around the world. People couldn't leave as the tide came in during the evening! Apparently on Paradise beach there is more going on and I may go to investigate that tomorrow.
Hope everyone is well at home.
Love, C
x

Advertisement



17th February 2010

Hello
Hi Charles, I am really enjoying your blogs. Thanks so much for taking the time to write it. I am doing the same as I did with Lucy and Matthew last summer, and when you get to a new place I look it up and see where you are and what it looks like. This blog thing has a good map. It sounds as if you're in a wonderful place now and it must be nice to have a chance to chill out a bit (not literally - we are doing that, with constant cold, wet weather!). How fantastic that you are now living on the beach. What wildlife do you share it with? We are all fine here. It's half term this week. M and R have got lots of work and R is also preparing for her German and French orals and Art GCSE at the end of this term. She's going to the Tate Modern tomorrow with a friend for some research. M has gone to visit Leeds uni today and I took him to Birmingham last week. He still hasn't heard from anyone else. Lucy is on clinical placement with four other girls from her course in Essex. She has to do really long hours, like 7.30 am to 11.30pm, but then she gets next week off. Lots of love, Milla xxx

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb