Technical knock-out


Advertisement
Asia
March 8th 2006
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

One-legged kick boxer?One-legged kick boxer?One-legged kick boxer?

Although he may look like he has a severed leg, it is the other kick boxer who should be worried... This was a referee-less, gloveless exhibition match.
Good morning from the tropical island of Ko Samui!
I have just arrived by plane at a small island off the coast of southern Thailand called Ko Samui. Its a pleasant affair -- the airport is a series of wooden huts and I'm off to find a cheap beachfront wooden hut bungalow for the duration of my stay here... how long that will be I'm not sure. But I don't think it will be a problem -- the sea is jade green and the sand is white. Plus I have found a new obsession.... muay thai kick boxing.

Let me explain... last night I had a ring side seat at Bangkok's biggest weekly muay thai kick boxing competition. And it was absolutely incredible... just to set the scene slightly, behind me was a steel cage and behind that was a den of Thai gamblers - I avoided these shady looking sorts for the seated area. And from there I saw about five matches each consisting of five rounds. Except not all of them lasted that long because generally opponents were finished off with car-crash impact blows to the neck, jumping elbow-drops to the back of heads and broken jaws. Twice,
Technical names for norksTechnical names for norksTechnical names for norks

I snapped this picture of a display board for one of the more exclusive underwear stores in the MBK shopping centre. You may want to zoom in to find out what they mean by 'cucumbers' and 'sweet potatoes'...
losers were carried out of the ring and one lad got hit so hard his eyes looked like sharks... you know all black and vacant. But having said that, both fighters seemed to be really enjoying themselves. Except when they ended up unconscious. I met the winner of the main event and he was only a short, scrawny lad... very deceiving.

So now I have my mind made up to learn the style. Not so that I can go fighting, but more so that I can put to use all those years spent making my legs strong and flexible with the high jumping... there is a school on this island and I'm off to find it before I get sunburnt and can't move.

Plus, I have good health insurance and should anything bad happen I will get to spend a few nights in a nice comfy bed.

Last nights 'sleep' consisted of about two hours lie down before a flock of chickens started singing followed by some calls to prayer. I think it was that, but it may have been an early morning protest. Theres something going on about the Thai Prime Minister, but I didn't really
So romantic.So romantic.So romantic.

This pic is from a Thai ghost-romance film. It's like a cross between the Moulin Rouge and an autopsy. See the flying girls-head on a heart or something. I just don't understand it at all.
understand what the taxi driver was saying. I was tempted to begin kick boxing training on those chickens, but the thought of touching anything that might have bird flu helped me see sense.



Advertisement



8th March 2006

you keep the journals cumming!!
hey cutey - hope you living it up! :o)

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb