bill murrayed


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 7th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hello...
I have arrived in bangkok safe and sound and although I felt like I was in 'Lost in translation' I am now over the jet lag and have reluctantly settled into becoming a backpacker.

For the first two nights i was on the 28th floor of a beautiful hotel overlooking Bangkok. I didnt realise quite how beautiful it was at the time cause tonight i'm in a room for backpackers behind the Kao San Road (which is like Oxford Street crossed with Ibiza's West-End but with dreadlocks and sandals). Theres not even an electric socket but it certainly won't cost as much as what i have so far caned in room service and sea food.

In fact I have just eaten a meal for about thirty pence which tasted really good. well... it was ok.... It can only be a matter of hours before I either get really poisoned or decide to get a faux-celtic tattoo.

I have already met some interesting characters... and been proposed to by two thai ladies. They offer to 'love you long time' but I thought going out shopping with them instead was probably a better idea. I have also bought some fake t-shirts and intend to get the Osama Bin Laden 'classic-pose' tee before I get home. (I'll get it customised and tailored to fit neatly first). Although there are lots of weird differences in culture, the best things I have seen so far include a baby elephant that just walked out of a crowd of people on a busy street. (I first saw it out the corner of my eye and it made me jump!), a pair of nice thai-ladies called Mai and June who make fab clothes (and share my tastes in vintage Vivienne Westwood) and some skinned mice and other assorted bush-tucker that you can buy to eat.

Unfortunately I din't meet my friend, Lenny because I fell asleep and didnt wake up til well after I think he would have left Bangkok. But never mind - what with all the fabulous clothes and food on offer I have been very, very busy!

Advertisement



7th March 2006

A shout from London town!
Dear Tony... so you've made it on the first leg of your journey! It's sounding like the start of something ___________ (enter caption here)! You look after yourself because the last thing I want is to see a dodgy video of your head being hacked off to screams of Allah Akbar! Oh, silly me, you're in Thailand! Well, watch out for those 'ladies' who'll love you long time sir, they aren't quite what they appear I hear... :-)

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb