Greetings from paradise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
March 12th 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My hutMy hutMy hut

It can be a little tricky to find, cause its hidden behind about 20 metres of bushes and palm trees from the beach. Nice.
Greetings from paradise. Seriously. After the last blog update I walked to a little hostel reccommended by my travel book and I have to say ... its perfect!
Its a wooden hut with a straw roof hidden in amongst all kinds of beautiful and exotic flowers. Its right on the beach which again is perfect! The water is transparent and as hot as a bath. Which suits me cause my hut has only got cold water. But everything else is so spot on. After sitting in my room for about two minutes I decided that I will stay here for a month or so. In fact I am currently turning my hut into a little art studio. I have been drawing pictures all day and exercising on the beach at 7am. I have met lots of interesting people. For example a super-beautiful thai go-go dancer (whom I spent the evening playing Connect Four with, and teaching her Saturday Night Fever dance
moves), a Swiss professional footballer and some geezers from London. I have had a number of close encounters with death riding on the backs of the taxi motorbikes. And also I just had a photo taken with my favourite animal
Front gardenFront gardenFront garden

The colours are much brighter in real life, but here's the view from the front garden.
-- a little monkey called 'Mah Jong'. Then the next thing I know I have a fricking eagle sat on my shoulder! An eagle! Thats going to be my second favourite animal from now on. I asked if the monkey could smoke cigarettes and the owner of the monkey looked really upset. I said that I would teach it if he wanted but he kind of backed away. But I was pleased he was leaving cause either the
eagle or the monkey had shat on my hand. Still, I think I am really getting my head around this backpacking lark. I have bought loads of cool fake clothes and am continually asked if I can have my photo taken with Thai girls. There was a queue of four in a row last night. I felt like 'David-u Be-ham' as they say here.

Right I'm off for another meal for a pound.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Weeds.Weeds.
Weeds.

All around the hut are pesky weeds like this one. Its nice to look at, but really chokes the geraniums. Any ideas what it is?
BushBush
Bush

I just like this picture.
Miami Tropicana 1983?Miami Tropicana 1983?
Miami Tropicana 1983?

Although it looks like a Miami tropican scene from around 1983, its actually the front garden about 3 hours ago.
Homeless mannequinHomeless mannequin
Homeless mannequin

The guys that ran the tailoring shop couldn't understand why I wanted to photograph their rubbish. But I think its actually a poor mannequin thats down on his luck. See, he's even turned to drink.
More flowersMore flowers
More flowers

Ok. I'll stop posting pictures of flowers shortly but heres just one more... it was a just a basin in the street full of flowers.
...just one more...just one more
...just one more

Ok, so I lied. But it is a nice picture?
Dinner for you, sirDinner for you, sir
Dinner for you, sir

You can buy these fried at some places. I am yet to complete this bush tucker challenge and eat one. But it is only a matter of time and sunburn before I think it is a good idea...
Dr DoolittleDr Doolittle
Dr Doolittle

I was just standing minding my own business when an eagle swooped down and landed on my head. Honestly! Look at the guys face on the right hand side, he's crapping himself more than the monkey did.


12th March 2006

Yum.
Tone. If you eat one of those beetles you're never kissing me again mate. Period.
12th March 2006

Not fair!!
Wow Tony, I'm so jealous! Your pictures are amazing : ) I want more self portraits of you though please - they always make me giggle : ) Well chuffed for you that you've finally gotten off your arse from cold and wet England (it's freeeeeezing today). Thailand's amazing - keep us up to date with your crazy stories. Miss you loads already : ) xxx
13th March 2006

now thats what i call backpacking
it looks wonderful cant see any other backpackers in the photos or are they off exploring and things that they do instead of buying new shirts

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb