My 1.5+ years in Taiwan


Advertisement
Asia
October 27th 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Taipei Taipei Taipei

World's tallest buildng on the horizion
Well it's hard for me to believe, but I'm almost 8 months over my expected stay in Taiwan. It's been a year and a half of intense highs and a few depressing lows. At the end of the day I have found another "home" away from home. Taiwan is an incredible place on many levels. My 1st perceptions were based on a landscape level. Taiwan is richly endowed with forests running the mountainous spine from Taipei to Kenting. It boasts 15 endemic bird species and 60 endemic subspecies. Black bears still roam the forest and maybe, just maybe there's a clouded leopard out there somewhere. Hot springs abound with Green Island having one of only three sea water hot springs in the world. So why is it that only one friend has managed to make the trip? Well, I'll let you dwell on that while you check out my wicked photos from selected trips here. This is only a snapshot as I already have some albums on facebook. The 1st photos take you from metropolitan Taipei down the E. coast to Ilan. Then comes the marble canyons and high falls of Taroko National Park. It's top 3 on my Taiwan destinations list. Then it's on to Kaohsiung, my current home. I have also included some pics from the beautiful outlying islands of Penghu and Green Island. Finally a mountain trip up an old narrow gauge railway, also one of only three in the world, to see majestic 1000+ year old cypress trees at Alishan. Okay if your ready to come now you'll have to wait a moment as I am ready for the open road again myself. But the plan is to be back here in a little over a years time. By then I hope to be starting a masters degree in teaching.


Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Longshan TempleLongshan Temple
Longshan Temple

Free and me inside smoke-filled temple
S. Taroko N.P.S. Taroko N.P.
S. Taroko N.P.

The back roads of Taroko were fantastic as was our guide, Justin.
S. TarokoS. Taroko
S. Taroko

Private access to a lovely canyon
Ecological ZoneEcological Zone
Ecological Zone

Funny enough this is practically my backyard, though this picture was from my 1st visit to Kaohsiung.
Confucius Temple Confucius Temple
Confucius Temple

This temple is next to Lotus Pond, which my balcony overlooks.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb