A Road Well Traveled. To Banlung


Advertisement
Asia
November 12th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The well rehersed departure comedy routine over, we set off for Banlung on the newly washed bike (?)! Ratanakiri roads are far from "sa'at" but the countryside is beautiful, though it's best not to admire it at the risk of ignoring pot holes in the road (of which there are many).

Banlung is the only town and it's fairly central. By "big bike" it's two hours east of Stung Treng along a rough unsurfaced road, three hours west from the Vietnam border over mud and ruts and four hours either north from Koh Neak, or south east from Siem Pang, both across country. It's an adventure alright, but don't place too much stake in the wildlife posters. The last Tiger we saw was two days ago in Stung Treng, wearing a costume I had packed from the US that fit Sophat's six year old nephew.

A flat and dessicated snake lay on the road, which I showed to Sophat and was ordered to throw away, which I did but in his direction. I would act like a "girls blouse" too if a spider had been launched at me, what with the squealing, arm flapping and execution of intricate dance steps. Not at all nice of me, but bloody funny all the same!

He wouldn't let me keep it as a bookmark for my journal, so instead I'm writing about it in the comfort of Terre Rouge Lodge, sitting on a real bed, looking forward to washing in hot water, using real towels and later talking with the other two or three guests. French, Spanish, Italian or English ...it doesn't really matter which as it's the change that's as good as a rest!
Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb