Song 'n' Dance in Stung Treng


Advertisement
Asia
November 11th 2008
Published: November 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Still feeling unwell but have been swallowing anything and everything from my stash of meds, and unknowns obtained by others from the family pharmacy here in town.

My admiring, married policeman (Sopeap) was turning up for coffee many times today (his voice carries and he's always joking around) and was admittedly disappointed that I was confined to my room. He had some type of arrangement because when I eventually surfaced at about 3pm, he must have been informed because no sooner had I finished my rice and tea outside in the cafe, someone's cell rang and I was being invited to join a private karaoke party in town.

"No" wasn't an answer and a car was to be sent for me. I gave in but asked Sophat to take me by bike, which he did, and then began two hours of "sob" singing by the already drunk men, and dancing by those brave enough to try.

Now the town has known me as 'The Dancer' since attending my first sedding here two years ago, and because it's the excuse for my being so thin, given to cafe patrons by Sophats Mama. I'm never permitted to sit on the sidelines, and this soon became exhasting today.

A slightly drunk Sopeap literally took me in his arms for the first slow dance. I could hear the sucking in of breath at such a forward move, but he's a comedian and we both acted our parts to ensure an atmosphere of fun and not seduction! From then on it was the usual situation where I dance with full body involvement including Rumba styling hips, the women are shocked and awed, while the men are transfixed.

Women never move in a way that's overtly sexy (it's the men that go nuts trying to copy me), in fact they dance like I'm told they have sex, self consciously and with as little action as possible. It seems as if everyone is fascinated by what the "Barang" can get away with in life, and in no way express disapproval, only amusement.

In recovery still, and quick to fatigue, I changed my role from being the guest entertainment, to that of photographer and became the focus of Sopeap's simpering as he sang the womens parts, and ad-lib'd the dialogue to the videos of unpopular songs that no one wanted to sing.

Quite a welcome change from the night sessions here when the floor is awash will spilled beer, all the private booths are filled, a multiplicity of songs at high volume are annoying the neighbours and the women are there to fill the glasses, snuggle with guests and work the back rooms.

It had been a while since my last visit and will hopefully be an even longer one before I'm there again!

Oh, did I sing? I really don't want to think about it right now....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb