More Phuket....shopping.......hiring cars


Advertisement
Asia
October 28th 2005
Published: November 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I decided that we wanted to do two main things, firstly I wanted to visit an orphanage, and secondally I wanted to visit a monestry at Kamala that the Australians helped to rebuild, so off I went to the travel agent, where I hired a car for 6hrs for 700bht. After yet another dress fitting, and a milkshake that took half an hour to make we were picked up for our afternoon of touring. The driver began by taking us to a fantastic temple, that really was quite beautiful, followed by a trip to a jewlery factory, a shopping centre that I really could have and should have given a miss, we then headed for a sea shell museum, and then a light house, so it was this point that I asked when we would be doing the things that I had paid him for, after all my son and I had gone out this morning to buy toys for the children. His response was that he had spoken to a friend of his and the orphanage was not taking any more visitors for the day, so we headed for Kamala, it was here that we discovered the real devastation caused by the tsunami, although there was a lot of reconstruction going on, however the monestry was also closed. So this evening we jumped in a tuk tuk and headed for Patong for some serious shopping. Patong, although a lot more expensive than many other parts of Thailand is certainly a shoppers heaven, a place that designer rip offs are every-where, from cds, and dvd's to brand name clothing, handbags, and watches. As we walked through the market, I could not see as many DVD's, so I decided to ask one of the vendors where I might be able to find them, with that he had be behind the counter, and through a door, where I was faced with a dvd library (apparenetly they hide them away so to avoid being raided), so I got a tonne of DVD's for less than the price of 1 at home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb