on my way to bangkok


Advertisement
Asia
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Am currently sitting in Surat Thani train station, it's 3.30pm and my train doesn't leave until 6.20pm. So updating my blogs from my BlackBerry to kill some time.

The service in restaurants and bars here isn't normally very good but the place I was in yesterday on the internet was brilliant. I paid for an hours internet and they just kept filling up my drink so I was a bit pissed when I left there. Went back to bungalows and went to the pool for a while in an attempt to sober myself up. Then went and tried to sleep to no avail. Decided to go out early and eat and went into town.

Went to O'Malleys for a while but none of the guys were in there so went to Encore bar which is supposed to be a rock bar. It was crap, they were playing a chilli peppers gig on the tv which I got bored of after 2 songs. Decided to have aqn early one and went back to O'Malleys to say goodbye to all the staff.

I was going for a taxi but there was boys selling those bag things that you set alight and the float away (I realise that is a rubbish description but I don't know what else to call them) so I bought one and sat on the beach watching it until it went out. It was a lovely way to spend my last evening.

Bus came to pick me up this morning at about 9.45am and took us to Krabi. We picked up this canadian guy who was the dead spit of my old flatmate Morrie, also canadian. He was as whiny as Morrie was too.

The bus was so old it had a picture of the King and Queen and they must have been in there 20's, the King is now in his 80's. All the windows were open and my hair has now taken on a ridiculous windswept afro style.

I was told the bus to Surat Thani was leaving at 11.30 which gave me 45mins in Krabi bus terminal. When the eventually called us it was nearer to 12 and there was only a few of us left. Turns out we were on the Koh Samui bus and they'd been putting people on the order they get off. I was in the front seat behind the very grumpy driver. He had a girl with him from the tour company and she talked constantly the whole jouney, top of her voice. Every time I dropped off to sleep she started again, I could have choked her.

We then stopped so everyone could have a break and I was told I'd be going to the train station via tuk tuk. There was only me and two Japanese guys who didn't speak very good english. The train station was 9 km away and the guy organising it said it should only take about 20 mins. 30 mins later we pulled up in a petrol station and the tuk tuk driver got out and told us we'd have to pay 100bht each for petrol. I told him no way and luckily the japanese boys follwed suit although I think they were going to pay it. Then he tried to get 50bht off them but they still refused. He started to laugh as though he'd just been joking but he really was trying his luck. Once out the petrol station he turned back and took us back to a junction I recognised from about 20mins before. Turns out the train station was just round the corner. He reminded me of one of those spivs from the old films in the 60's. He had the thin little moustache, all he needed was a trilby hat and he'd have been perffect.

So I've been sat in this station for half an hor and haven't seen a single train yet. I have seen a left luggage place so I might dump my case and go and explore.

Advertisement



12th March 2008

just keeping up to date with my reading enjoying this as much as you take care and god bless your wee mum xxxx

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb