Last part of the journey


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 13th 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well this will probably be my last blog until I get home as I leave Bangkok early Saturday morning.

Ditched my luggage in the train station for 10bht and went for a walk, it was baking hot and around the train station there wasn't a lot to do. So ended up going back to the station and hanging around. I'd asked someone about my train and he showed me the train number on the board which said Platform 1 and he pointed at platform 2 and said the train would probably be ready by about 5pm. I was slightly confused so thought I'd hang on for a while and ask someone else. There was already a train on Platform 2 that was filling up and it kind of looked like a sleeper train so I wasn't sure at all what was going on.

Luckily this English couple, who I'd seen dropping their luggage off earlier, asked at the information desk and were told something similar, so they stood along on platform 1. Eventually though they came back and said that someone had told them the train on platform 2 was theirs and the information people agreed. At this point I jumped in and asked what was happening. Turns out the train on platform 2 was the sleeper to Bangkok but it was just left on that platform so as not to block platform 1 for the other trains coming and going. So I could have been sat on a nice air conditioned train for a few hours instead of a sweating on the platform.

We were all on the same carriage although I was a few seats down from them. They were a really lovely couple although I didn't get the girls names. Also on the carriage were two Canadians who I named Zeph and Sammy. Also a nice German couple sitting across from. I got my book out and relaxed and before long we were on our way.

The sleeping compartments are cool. You have two chairs facing each other and then they kind of pull out and join up to make the bottom bunk. The top bunk is a pull down compartment above where they store all the sheets, pillows, curtains etc. I must say it was incredibly comfortable. Only problem was that I ordered some food and when it came the seats were in the bed position so I had to negotiate myself so as not to spill soup or curry all over the pristine white sheets.

I slept ok, kept waking up but it was weird I'd look at my watch and another 2 hours would have passed whereas I thought it was maybe 10 minutes. Next time I come I'm definately doing that journey again.

Arrived in Bangkok at 6am and I got in a tuk tuk. Had an argument with one driver who wouldn't take me for the price I suggested but another guy took me for 150bht.

Got to Khao San Road and thought I'd try my luck in the Buddy Lodge Hotel, it's supposed to be a boutique hotel. They had a room which was 2000bht, really expensive for here but I figured I only have 2 nights left I may as well spend them somewhere nice. The room is pretty nice and I have a view. Mostly of other buildings of course but it's better than nothing.

Got another tuk tuk to the rip off tailers and had a fitting of my suit. It's nice but I'm still not convinced it's worth what I paid for it. He had the cheek to then try and sell me another one. Prick.

Got back, had a light lunch and a couple of beers and suddenly just felt shattered. I suppose I hadn't really had enough sleep on the train so I went back to my room and had a nap for a couple of hours, then watched a movie. Came back out about 6 and went for a falafal and done some shopping. I'm really not sure how I'm going to fit everything into my case. Might need to buy another one.

Stopped for a drink and got chatting to an English guy called John, we ended up having a few drinks together and a really nice chat. He went off to the Shamrock bar and I was going to try somewhere else but decided to go back to the room to use the toilet and stayed there for the rest of the night.

Breakfast in the hotel was superb this morning, oh by the way the breakfast on the train was the most disgusting thing I've EVER eaten. Cold fried eggs and a sausage shaped like a flower. bleuargh.

Going to try and get off to the Grand Palace today and get some award winning pictures.

So I think this is probably me saying goodbye from Thailand.

Jane
x

Advertisement



13th March 2008

last part of the journey
Hi, got the bit about the 'next time' in your latest blog, like you said 3 weeks not long enough to see and do all you wanted. so glad you had such a great time. will see you for drinks at the weekend if your able. good journey home. x

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb