Singapore & Kuala Lumpor


Advertisement
Asia
October 13th 2005
Published: October 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Singapore marinaSingapore marinaSingapore marina

View from the balcony of the room at the Mandrin Marina hotel.
Two great flights (thank you Cathay Pacific) and I arrive in Singapore. From the zaniness of India to the homogined Singapore, a place where you can spend a night in jail for spitting gum on the street.

Thanks to my friend Kirsty, I am at the Mandrin Marina hotel, a far cry from the low budget huts and rooms in India I was staying in.

While Kirsty has some work to do with HP, I spend my time visiting the malls and shops of Singapore...cause that is all there really is to this place. One of my first stops is Carl's Jr. for a HAMBURGER!!! After no meat for almost 6 weeks, I am craving a buger! It is soooo goood.

We grab some great dinners at some scenic spots (Chjimes, Boat Quay, top of the Sofitel Hotel) and visit the Night Safari at the Singapore Zoo. Then we decide to rent a car and drive to Kuala Lumpor so I can see the twin towers. I drive for a bit but then I realize that she drives much faster than me (go figure) so she takes the wheel and we are crusing at almost 180 kph before
Beef!Beef!Beef!

I am thrilled to be eating beef for the first time in almost 6 months.
we know it. We reach KL around 8pm and the Twin Towers are a real treat when lit up. I even get introduced to Steamboat, which is a free standing street vendor who offers all kinds of stuff (meats, tofu, vegies, etc.) that you put in boiling water and then eat. Yummy.

Early the next morning we race back to Singapore for her work and I go to pick up my laundry at the cleaners. They proceded to ruin my clothes, especially my favorite button down silky blue shirt. Ahh, the joys of traveling.

It's off to Thailand now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

CheckersCheckers
Checkers

Old Singapore men play checkers on the street. Seeing this makes me miss playing chess with The Dude!
Singapore SlingSingapore Sling
Singapore Sling

I enjoy the famous drink with Kirsty and her friend from New Zealand.
Dinner at ChjimesDinner at Chjimes
Dinner at Chjimes

This old church was turned into a location for a few restaurants. It still has a large cathedral hallway that is used for ceremonies like weddings.
Twin Towers of KLTwin Towers of KL
Twin Towers of KL

These towers are beautiful at night as the light reflects off each floor. If you look closely, you can see Sean Connery and Catherin Zeta-Jones running along the cross-bridge.
Speed DemonSpeed Demon
Speed Demon

Pushing almost 180 KPHs, Kirsty drives faster than me.


Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 29; qc: 155; dbt: 0.1195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb