Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 16th 2005
Published: October 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Keren and I reunite on RambuttriKeren and I reunite on RambuttriKeren and I reunite on Rambuttri

Keren was part of the Nepal rafting team back in August. We kept in touch via email and then, as planned, met up in Bangkok (although she switched hotels without telling me but we luckily caught up on the street).
After a rather quite week in Singapore (mainly because I was not feeling welll...could be because I lost my Qray bracelet which many of you know make me feel good by balancing my Chi), my first night in Bangkok involved a late night drinking with an English guy I met in the hotel (Sawadsee Smile Inn on Rambuttri street). I woke with a bit of a hang over but pushed myself to go see some sights. The first on the list was the Chatuchak Weekend Market (it covers an area of 70 rai (35 acres), contains more than 15 000 shops and stalls, has over 200 000 visitors each day, and they spend an estimated total of 30 million baht (approx US$750 000)). After bumping into Keren, my friend from Nepal (we made plans to meet later that night), I join 3 German girls and take the public bus to the market.

Among the many attractions at the market, I was keen on seeing cock fighting. While the experience was interesting, it did not live up to my expectations. Hey, maybe the birds were rookies?

I spent the next few hours seeing the sights on the Chao Praya River
Cock Fighting at MarketCock Fighting at MarketCock Fighting at Market

The huge weekend market features everything from clothes, antiques, animals, food....I of course found my way to the entertaining section.
on one of the ferry boats. Got back to the hotel around 8pm and caught up with Keren (as she said goodbye to many Israeli friends). We then spent the evening at the hotel watching a movie and eating.

I rented a tuk-tuck for 2 hours the next day as he took me around to see some temples and sights of Bangkok. I ended up at the Grand Palace which was quite impressive with vibrant colors outstanding architecture.

It's off to Ko Pangang for the full moon party on Tuesday the 18th.

L-


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Bridge over Chao Praya RiverBridge over Chao Praya River
Bridge over Chao Praya River

This suspension brige uses only one column to span the river.
Standing GuardStanding Guard
Standing Guard

Flanked by two elephants, this guard stands firm at the Grand Palace with construction taking place behind him.


30th October 2005

Sawasdee
Thanks for the lovely photos of Thailand.

Tot: 0.457s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 34; qc: 157; dbt: 0.1431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb