Mumbai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
October 9th 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Street PartyStreet PartyStreet Party

While wandering around the Calabra section of Mumbai, I stumble upon a block party.
My flight from Goa to Mumbai was without incident, but the cab ride from the airport to the Colabra section of Mumbai was a nightmare. The ride took over two hours with lots of traffice, the cabs are really small so I had to schootch down in the rear seat, and no air con with the hot air of Mumbai baking me.

I had planned to have dinner with a friend but my late arrival cancelled that so I went to Leopolds (a Mumbai landmark among travelers) for dinner solo. Then to bed as I was in need of some serious sleep.

Spent next day sightseeing a bit, got a shave and a much needed pedicure and then preceded to bump into many friends who I had seen a few days earlier in Palolem. Small world.

Well, India is over as I am heading out to Singapore. It has been a wild ride in this most magical land. I am sure I will miss it tremendously. It is funny to think that it started with being ripped off in Sunali and then a few hectic days in crazy, smelly, dirty Varanasi...and ended with over a week at the
TaxiTaxiTaxi

These old style cars, many adorned with outlandish accessories, litter the roads of mumbai.
most beautiful beaches I have ever been too. Simply put...that is India.

I did manage to find my friends for my last dinner in India. We had BBQ on the street (very fitting). I went to the airport very early and planned to spend time in the Cathay Pacific business center doing internet. But low and behold, the CP lounge was licensed out and they had not computers....so I had to spend 8 hours (as my flight did not leave until 5am) in the airport milling around. Ahhhh, the joys of traveling.

L-




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Taj Mahal hotelTaj Mahal hotel
Taj Mahal hotel

One of the most famous in Mumbai, this magnificent hotel is found along the waterfront in Colabra.
Everyone is at Ronald's HouseEveryone is at Ronald's House
Everyone is at Ronald's House

I bump into my Austrian friends (who I met in Palolem...the other one is taking the photo) in Mumbai at McDonalds. The one bad thing about McDonalds in India is not hamburgers as beef is frowned upon here.
GateGate
Gate

Gate constructed in remembrance of King and Queen of England's visit.
Last SupperLast Supper
Last Supper

I bump into Marcel and girlfriend (we met in Palolem) on the street in Mumbai. We grab a street BBQ dinner before heading to airport to leave India.


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb