Plans Change Sometimes ....


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
June 30th 2014
Published: July 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Feels like it's been forever since I've traveled anywhere..I mean REALLY traveled......



My last blog I had been "mulling" over a decision and have come to a decision based in part on a better opportunity and partly because..Shit I just need a damn break from the classroom at least a month of just backpacking!!



Last month I applied for a teaching gig that starts in September in Moscow of all places! To my surprise I landed it so some of the thoughts and plans I came up with in the last blog are null and void now. I have put in my notice to leave with my employer here in Vietnam, which to tell you the truth I'm excited about lol. There are just things here in Vietnam that I just don't like mainly with how schools are operated and how foreign teachers are treated ..pretty much like local teachers who are teaching English classes. I don't mean that we as native speakers should be put on a pedestal or anything like that, but what I am saying is that we SHOULD be treated a bit better and schools should listen to our opinions a bit more than they do..instead it's pretty much say what you feel and in one ear and out of the other.



I remember when I first arrived here in January I was VERY excited about being in a new land, a new culture, a new cuisine! Six months in and I am pretty much Souped and Banh Mi'ed out. The cuisine is diverse, but on a day to day basis it's very bland and gets old very fast. The language barrier is pretty difficult also, in fact the most difficult I have come across in my travels so far. It's true English is wanted and needed here, but the reality is most schools would rather employ local teachers to teach English rather than native speakers ...it's simply about money. The habits that most of my students have learned are terrible and it's due to the local teachers not being able to pronounce letters and words correctly and they go on to teach the students that which is sad and a real headache for us who come here to teach. By far the MOST annoying thing here is the lack of listening to what we give as feedback. This school I work at now is better organized than the other schools I've been to, BUT as I have mentioned to them several times already they give me these VERY beginner classes with kids who cannot even say "my name is" and somehow magically they are supposed to listen to me talk for over two hours and not understand a word I say or any directions I give them and POOF! They are supposed to learn English that way. I have told them many times give me an assistant in the class because they do not understand anything I tell them. I have even kicked out a few students from my classes because of disrespect which I attribute to not understanding what I tell them. It's just frustrating that's all. So hence why I am so excited to get away from the classroom for at least a month to refresh myself! There are literally like 3 or 4 holidays throughout the year here aside from TET which is about 2 weeks in January/February......it's pretty ridiculous going for such long stretches with no break ..6 days per week..



So, I have decided on doing Cambodia and Thailand for all of September enjoying the ruins, foods and beaches! It will give me the much needed break I need and also I can save a little money in the process before getting to Moscow for 8 months. There are a ton of holidays and breaks which I am looking forward to doing some time in Europe! Hopefully Rome on New Years! The school there is expat owned and operated which makes ALL the difference in the world in my opinion AND 2 consecutive days off on the weekend is incredible lol!! So, needless to say I am really excited about a new land, culture, food (CHEESE!!!! I NEED CHEESE!! There is no cheese here in Vietnam) and the proximity to Europe which I can explore on breaks!



So, there you have it! 56 days from today adios Vietnam..it's been real, but it's time to go!



Thanks for reading everyone sorry no pics until I finish up classes here next month..then it's onto Phnom Penh for a couple of days and then to Siem Reap for a few days of exploring Angkor Wat...Then Bangkok and Pattaya and some of the islands and then to Chiang Mai and the north before going back to Bangkok to fly to Moscow at the beginning of October. After my contract in Moscow and a bit of exploring and seeing some friends in Europe I will go back to the Americas starting in Mexico again and head south to the most amazing country I have encountered so far to live and work for years to come...Colombia! If anyone is going to be in any of these places around the same time..Let's get a beer and eat some food!



- Greg

Advertisement



1st July 2014

Good luck!
Good luck on your upcoming adventures in Russia! I hope that despite the difficulties faced you've still enjoyed your time in Vietnam!
1st July 2014

Thanks!
Hey buddy, yea I have enjoyed Vietnam, it's just working here that is annoying..well Vietnam has gotten old..maybe it's just me lol ..looking forward to some new places for sure! Thanks again!!
1st July 2014

Exciting times!
Sorry to hear about your frustrations at work Greg, but it's excellent to hear of your new plans! Looking forward to reading all about it :)
1st July 2014

Hey there!!
Thanks guys, hope all is going great "down unda"! Yea teaching here is a bit frustrating, but it's almost over I just really need a break from the classroom and get back on the road at least for a month. Looking forward to some damn cheese lol..sounds trivial, but really this is the first country I've ever been to where they have no local cheese and people for the most part don't even like it ..Blasphemy! lmao..thanks again for the comment!! Looking forward to some adventure..55 days and counting!! :)
1st July 2014

Great job!
Dear Greg, I am most surprised as I thought their support would be provided exactly as in any other Asian countries; but hey, don´t get discouraged, with your everyday work, I am sure you´re contributing a great deal to their betterment of their linguistic skills, and that´s what´s important. Keep travelling, I am jealous.
2nd July 2014

Hey Frank!
Thanks for the comment! Yes I'm excited for the next chapter and place, but first getting out of the classroom for a break at least a month is the main priority! Getting burned out takes a toll! I'll be heading back to the Americas next summer so I'm really looking forward to that! a few places that I missed in Mexico, Guatemala and see some friends in Honduras before heading back to Colombia!
1st July 2014

Fantastic plans
Sounds like you've made a great decision on both your holiday and your next career move. Russia should be very interesting. Keep us posted.
2nd July 2014

Thanks Dave an Merry
Thanks so much for the comment! Yes it's about time for a break..at least a month to get away from the classroom grind! Itching for the road again and the beaches! Moscow was a big surprise to me, but I landed it and looking forward to the new place and culture! NOT looking forward to the frozen B#@$@ though lol, but hey it's a trade off so I'll deal with it for a few months. When are you guys getting back on the road?

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb