Mulling....


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Long An
May 13th 2014
Published: May 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,



I have been reading some amazing blogs on here recently and it has me getting that proverbial "itch" again and combined with my recent short getaway to Phu Quoc I am thinking I might hit the road again earlier than expected. I was supposed to be here through early January 2015, but I think September/October might suit me just fine as I need to get on the road enjoy myself again instead of just working. I went from Honduras making just about no money teaching for 10 months straight with no vacation time to Uzbekistan where I started working the day after I arrived from a 64 hour flight/layovers (The cheapest ticket available Courtesy of the owner of the school) for the next 4 months and now to Vietnam where I have been working here since January 2nd.... so close to 20 months with no backpacking or exploring essentially. Work, work, work..I just need a break ..at least 3 months or so to refresh myself. I do like Vietnam a lot however! Great people, cheap to live, easy to get a teaching job and great food! I would probably come back here after the road if I do not get a better offer of course. Planning my route as I write this which I am debating between Asia (Philippines, China, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Myanmar, Cambodia, and Laos OR spend a few months on the Indian subcontinent which I would do Sri Lanka and India....Decisions...Decisions...



Sorry no pics just wanted to put my thoughts on paper so-to-speak...Thanks for taking a look feel free to let me know your thoughts..Pro's and Cons..experiences etc etc.



**An Update to this blog..after weighing the pros and cons of each..I have chosen...to do the Asia and SE Asia trip for 3-4 months to get refreshed and go back to teaching after that trip...Most likely in Indonesia or Thailand because they have the most relaxed rules for teachers and plentiful opps! Thanks all for reading!! Almost get on the road again time!! WOOO HOO!!



-EEC

Advertisement



13th May 2014

Decisions, decisions
On the road again is a good idea. You've worked hard now time to plan for a little exploring. All of your options sound great. We loved the Philippines. Ren and Drew (travel bloggers have just finished a month in Malaysia) The wrote several blogs and you may want to check them out. Lots of great food to eat. http://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Malaysia/blog-839053.html So many places and so little time. Eager to hear what you decide. We will be following along as always.
13th May 2014

Thanks!
Hey there, yea I'm starting to get burned out..it's been almost 2 years since I had any resemblance of backpacking..so I'll take a few months and enjoy and get rejuvenated and go back to teaching..I was thinking though I should do Sri Lanka and India for a few months as when I am finished I'll most likely come back to Asia to teach for at least 6 months and after that I can do the Asian countries I listed..I have been following Ren and Drew for a while now and have read all of their Malaysian blogs! ( Part of the reason I'm getting that "itch" again lol!! Thanks for the comment and following! it is always appreciated! Buen Viaje!!
13th May 2014

DC!
Just noticed your from Northern Virginia! Nice I'm from right across the Potomac in MD!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb