Vietnam is like Marmite


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
March 18th 2011
Published: April 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

You either love it or you hate it. And unfortunately for me, I'm going with the latter.

I know that it's difficult and a little unfair to judge a place in such a small amount of time but almost the entire time was there, I didn't want to be.

Vietnam is LOUD! The traffic, the people, the kids, the music. If you like constant noise and people shouting directly in your ear or taking the night train whilst the two women in the bunks below you scream at each other from less than a metre apart whilst you're trying to sleep, then you might like it.

The people like to ask questions. Which I don't mind. Although they are the same questions and you feel like you are on repeat. It goes like this:

'Where are you from?'
'How old are you?'
'Married?'
'26 and not married?!'
'Why'?

And then a whole host of original questions which I also don't mind but I often don't like the responses which go like this:

'Vegetarian? No. You're too fat.'
'You look nice. But your calves are too big.'
'I like your nose. It's small but normally English
...the Bad......the Bad......the Bad...

Night trains
people have big noses.'


You can't cross the road in big cities for the traffic which stops for nothing and is constantly beeping! You can't walk down the street anywhere without being asked if you want a tuk tuk, taxi, car, motorbike. If I want one, I'll ask. I am perfectly capable of walking 50 metres, thank you.

You cannot sit in a restaurant, especially outside without being harassed by someone trying to sell you something, usually a counterfeit Lonely Planet book. And you definitely can't sit on a bench and try to read one of those books without someone trying to sell you two more, or a pack of postcards.

You can't stop to look at a map because someone will think that you're lost rather than just checking where you're going and then they'll want to help. Which doesn't sound too bad. Except that help, I found, generally (but not always) comes with a price tag like the 10,000 Dong I was asked for if the man who had stopped beside me could point where I was on the map. I didn't ask him, but he asked me for the cash. I laughed and
...and the Ugly....and the Ugly....and the Ugly.

scooters on the pavement in Hanoi as the traffic passes by on the road.
walked away. Imagine telling someone you can help them with directions, but they have to pay! You'd just move on to the next person who'd give it for free right? I was also helped with my backpack at the train station in Da Nang which I also did not ask for but decided to give the man a tip. He asked me for twice what I gave him. I looked at him and shook my head and he stood in front of me until I gave him what he asked for.

It might be a plus for some... but you can smoke inside. And that includes inside a train. And you seem to be able to throw whatever you like out of whatever window you like, resulting in the roadsides and the countryside being coated in plastic bottles and bags.

Last and by absolutely no means least... I was very almost a victim of a scam in Ho Chi Minh City. My own fault, I was stupid and not paying attention. Luckily for me though, I figured out what was happening in time and managed to get help from some amazing Vietnamese women in a cafe who kept me in their kitchen until it was safe to leave. I don't know what I would have done without them and want to say thank you even though I know only 12 people read this and none of them are Vietnamese!


Unlike Marmite however, Vietnam does have some redeeming features:

Ha Long Bay is beautiful and I genuinely hope that the mass tourism doesn't ruin it.

The people in South Vietnam are great! They're still loud and a little pushy but they've always got a smile to give and are mostly happy to help.

Hoi An. The only place I truly, truly liked without exception in Vietnam. The old yellow buildings, the lights, the lanterns, the water, the clothes, the people, the fact that the whole city is UNESCO world heritage, the food and of course...the shoes. Whilst I don't think I would ever want to return to Vietnam, if I had to, this is the place I would go!

It's a beautiful country, I can't deny it but it really just isn't for me!

In all honesty though, it's each to their own. I'd say go there and go with an open mind and try, like I did, to really like it and you might just be one of the lucky ones to fall in love with it.

Advertisement



6th April 2011

I was having a really shit at work day but your blog just made me laugh loads. Especially the bit about the questions. Not sure it's meant to be humorous but thanks for that
6th April 2011

No worries! I had to leave it a couple of weeks before writing so I could put a little humour into it, otherwise it would have just been one very long, boring rant :)
6th April 2011

Woah!
Totally different to Peru isnt it??? I went two weeks after I got back from Peru. I flew into to Ho Chi Minh then went straight up to Hanoi. I liked the old quarter there, but agree with people trying to sell you stuff and dodgy taxi meters! I then went 3hrs north east to a small "village" to do archaeology work. And when I say village, me and my lectuerer were the only westerners within miles and stood out like sore thumbs. I eventually got used to the staring. And we did get asked the same questions all the time because thats all the high school kids could ask in English! By the end of three weeks I couldnt believe the rubbish (it would be gorgeous if they didnt litter so much), the noise (even during the wee hours of the morning), crossing the road i though I would die every time! dodgy massage parlours (aka pretty sure they were brothel type situations!), and eating rice for breakfast. Man I was desperate for bread by the time I got back to Hanoi! Apart from that though I found the majority of locals to be very nice people. THe kids need a decent smack and do not need to be carried around every minute of the day! And i disagree with them eating all their cute animals and especially puppies! :( I still admire you so much for travelling by yourself! Ur such a brave girl! :) hope the rest of ur asain tours go better!!! xoxo

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb