I think I am going crazy


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
January 19th 2010
Published: January 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post


Jesus Hanoi
so, Hanoi is suppose to be this great old world asia meets modern world type thing but i think it sucks. it is stinky, cold, polluted, and there are so many people here. they restrict the websites you can look at, they overcharge you (even when you see the price tag) if you are a tourist, NO ONE speaks english and they gauff at you when you attempt the language. I just want someone to be straight with me here. i feel like everyone has shifty eyes and sticky fingers. The roads are filled with motorcycles and everyone honks like it is going out of style! like, is it really nessasary to sneak up behind me and blare your horn just to let me know that you are next to me? I am not even in the road! In fact, they scare me enough that i may end up stumbling into the road. Every store sells the same knock off shit and acts like your an idiot for asking for a lower price. Then when you refuse to pay them the price they ask, they chase you down the road for, like, hours barely lowering the price until they get to the price you asked for in the first place. By the time they follow you a couple of kilometers down the street you don't even want the item anymore, and you buy it, just to get rid of them! then they act like you are stealing from their family and that you will get bad karma for the rest of your life. I didn't even want a wooden frog that bad anyway!
YUK! I am ready to get out of here. I'm not good at haggleing and I am really sensitive to poor people with deformed feet and hands asking for money and help. I feel like i am going to cry at every sad looking mom holding a dirty baby, so I get teary eyes often. Poor babies, poor people, poor animals, poor enivironment, poor me, poor shit! Any speaking of shit, the toilets are atrocious! I had to pee in my first all girl trouf. Just like this river of pee, with chicks standing around with no doors and their pants around their knees. I though the squat toilets were weird and they took some getting used to but I will never again pee next to 20 women in a long row of filth. i would rather wet myself.
The markets here are nightmareish. I watched today as geese and ducks were bled and then boiled alive, plucked and then gutted. The men feeding the entrails to the pigs and dogs that roam the market like the devil's mascots. Wow, I remember my original reason for eating only veggies for the last few years of my life. however, veggies will make you sick here and when in Rome you do as the Romans do. When in Vietnam, you eat dog. and I also has seen cats for sale along side the roosters and geese. I hope they are only pets, but something tells me that they are just to tasty for the Vietnamese to pet and cuddle. Meow...
So tomorrow is a different day and a differet dong, so look out north Vietnam! Here we come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb