Last couple of days of trip and now back in Aus


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well my last few days were speant with Phuong pretty much the whole time. Mike ended up going with Hop to meet her family.. Sounded very funny.. he had to go through a swamp to get there and ate snake. Had snakes in a plastic bag down by his feet in the van on the way their and ducks in the back.. haha.. The village was even more remote than Phuongs. Apparently the shower was just a bucket of cold water and he slept in a room with the rest of the family on small wooden beds (although Mike needs to have a tv on to go to sleep so he didnt really sleep haha).

Went to Apocolypse Now a couple more times and out for dinner heaps.. Im gonna miss Vietnamese food. Mike came back not happy - his relationship with Hop seems a bit dodge and think he realised it.. So kinda broke it off with her... Although he is staying in contact.. She told me she does really like Mike but still getting over her ex boyfriend.

Phuongs parents came to the airport to see me off.. we had dinner first - the whole time Phuong was trying to hold back her tears - you could see it and then you could see her Mum was too - they both did a better job than me .. Her Dad even learnt some english to say "See you again" to me. He gave me a present (A picture of the virgin mary) - which was nice but well anyone who knows me knows how I feel about people trying to push religion... I accepted it greatfully though and Phuong told me its up to me what I beleive but her Dad wanted her to tell me that when things are tough or I want a better job or get off track abit or anything to pray to Mary as it helps him.

Coming back yesterday was a bit of a shock. Sydneys so quiet compared to Saigon.. I also noticed how big we are.. Its no wonder the food we eat haha. Have been messaging Phuong and phoned her.. She very positive... (although she wasnt and I told her a few days ago to stay positive and since then she has reminded me) - shes been out looking for a new job and keeps saying GO GO GO.. get my bills out of the way.. finish my course, excerise and then we can marry and be together.

Not going to miss the lighter salesman, the taxis or restaurants or motorbike riders trying to get you to go with them or go into their restaurant.. Not gonna miss the wallet, newspaper or sunglass salesman, the girls who yell out - I have your size, the shoe shine boys who are adament the can shoe shine jandles haha or the women carrying their babies around at 11pm asking you for money.

Thats district 1 though which is a cool place to visit... I wouldnt live there when I go though. Anyone visiting Saigon for a short time I reccomend district 1 Buin Vein Street.. right in the heart of the madness haha... Watch out for the men with the trycicles with chairs on offering to show you around the city.. they'll charge you an arm and a leg... My best advise and what we did after our first week.. Get a map, make friends with locals (genuine friends not people wanting anything) and find out for yourself! Dont be afraid of crossing the road or even riding a motorbike yourself. Mike did it heaps.. I tried in Da Lat but gave up pretty fast... Anyone using a motorbike for a ride - work out a price first. Get straight in there and eat the food off the side of the road.. Its beautiful and is better than a lot of the food in restaurants.. Dont be afraid of ice or the tap water.. its fine (in Saigon anyway) and be careful of your wallet..haha.. If your at Apocolypse Now, make sure you tell the waiters you want your change. I cant think of anything else to publish right now but maybe in a couple of weeks when more things come back to me, Ill put in one more entry.. Back at work today and all Im thinking now is GO GO GO.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb