Back in Saigon - trip nearly over


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After my last entry we got rained out so didnt make it snorkeling.. Booked a bus back to Saigon. We looked at flying but was gonna cost about 900,000vnd and we got a sleeper bus for about 200,000. THe sleeper bus was really cool! THe back row was empty so we moved up there.. Was kinda like being on a king size bed on the back of the bus. I straped on my seatbelt as was pretty bumpy for some of the ride.. And after the bus ride from Da Lat to Nha Trang (I think I forgot to mention that at some points the road was only big enough for 1 and a half cars and you could end up over the side of the cliff haha) I was definitly gonna strap myself in with the pouring rain. THe start of the trip they had this vietnamese music playing which Im guessing was supposed to put us to sleep but after half an hour of the same song over and over again, I got out of bed and asked the driver to turn it off which he did.. All up the bus ride was about 9 and a half hours :op

Ive been thinking about it for awhile and decided to do it.. One of the biggest decisions of my lfe. Asked Phuong to marry me.... Mike said it would probably be the best thing to ever happen to me.. she obviously loves me and me her, plus I can settle down.. No more possible drug binges (not that Ive had any more Mum - but no more worries about them possibly happening), getting drunk regulary, womanising and will have some more focus for life and with my money. I had it all planned.. She went to go do some stuff and I snuck off to find a ring. I went to meet Mike and Hop as wanted to check with Hop what size ring would fit Phuong... ended up being a bit of a drama as Hop came down and told Phuong to come down to the jeweller.. which obviously ruined my surprise and Phuong was mad at Hop as wanted to be surprised. Ahh well... she said yes and we are both really happy and talking about the future. Shes still happy to wait for me in feb but I dont want to go that long without her.. GOnna do some research to try to get her to Aussie for awhile and then we can take a trip to NZ so she can meet my family. A sensible thing to do as well is to try and get some money together in Aussie first before looking at coming back to Asia. I found out that a studio apartment here (obviously one that isnt that great) is only $8000USD so that could be an option to live in once back and maybe then use as a rental.. Mike ended up getting engaged to Hop as well... Im a bit concerned that Hop is looking for a ticket to oz but who knows - they do like each other but there thing happend really quick. Hope she doesnt hurt him. Hes my best mate and all.

Hop wanted us to all go last night to meet her family which is also in a country town in the Mekong but even further than Phuongs.. about 6 hours. Since they came to Phuongs we were gonna go.. Phuong didnt really want to but I said we have to... Turned out the trip was gonna take place in a old small van which was way to over crowded... the 4 seats we paid for the driver tried to fit 6 of us in... I was getting a bit anti but was still gonna do it to go wingman for Mike ... Phuong got really mad though and said no we're getting out... Mike said to me sweet as so we got out and walked back to our hotel after having some dinner on the way. Mike later msgd me saying the Van broke down next to a giant pile of rubbish and everyone was pulling the van apart trying to fix it in the rain hahaha and Hop had given away the KFC zinger burgers we'd bought for the trip to the other passengers haha.. THey taxied back and saw Mike this morning and they've gone again by boat this time I think.

I really dont want to leave.. Me and Phuong had a bit of a crying session which I wont elaberate on too much (cheese) and we're just trying to now spend as much time together as we can. We may go out for a nice dinner tonight and then dancing at Apocolypse Now (where we first met). Will see how it goes but this may be my last entry before I go home. Everything Im eating at the moment though is going straight through me... I think I need to check my bag of tricks the doctor gave me in oz. :oP

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb