Met the family


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Before Mekong we went to the Saigon Zoo. Was ok... When it comes down to it I dont really like zoo's.. animals in captivity and all... Catching the local buses here is funny cause they dont fully stop sometimes so you have to run and jump on while its still moving haha.. then someone comes and you pay for your ticket. COuldnt do it without having a local with you or knowing how to speak Vietnamese.

The trip to Mekong was definitely an awesome experience. It was a 2hr bus ride.. Phuong knows all the cheap transport that tourists dont catch. After 2 hours on the bus we hop off to catch a boat.. It was so funny your all lined up in a kinda tunnel thing amongst the scooters that are all revving up waiting to go and you've got to climb your way through them haha. Then after the boat we have to jump back on the bus. We arrived at a town close to Phuongs at about 8.30pm and stayed in a hotel for the night. Went to some local restaurant again... (Have to admit Im getting a bit sick of veges, tiny bird eggs and crabs claws while sitting on kids plastics chairs haha).

Next day had to get a taxi to another boat which took us to Phuongs town. The country people here are so much nicer than the city people (like in NZ) and no-one tried to sell us anything. Cant remember the name but have it written down so will check later... This was really really country. Got a few pics but not many as didnt know if it was inappropriate to take them. There were no other tourists here. No one spoke english. I was pretty nervous at meeting her family but they were REALLY NICE!! They own a tiny little shop on the main street and sell cell phones and little nic nacs. Out there back door is a river and bush. First I met her Mum and Aunty. They were really nice and brought out heaps of food. The day before I had to go buy presents for the family. Its tradition here when you meet a girls family for the first time. So I gave them some moon cakes, a bottle of bailys, some grape juice, pistacio nuts and chocolates. They dont really drink but Phuong said bailys would be easy for her Dad to drink.

Then Phuong chucked me on the back of the family motor bike and took me to do the rounds. All up met about 4 Auntys, 2 Uncles, 2 Cousins, her younger brother, Her Grandmother, Her other grandparents who I really liked. Her Grandfather made me sit on this kinda wooden platform thing with him around the table and kept patting me on the shoulder and back, I dont know what he was saying to the others but apparently he liked me. The Grandmother reminded me of my Great Grandmother who died a couple of years ago, just the way she carried herself, smiled and even looked abit like her. Every relative I visited they brought out plates of food (usually the local fruit - giant grapefruits, li chis and various other things), along with whatever we wanted to drink. Some gave me gifts.. coconut candy which is famous in her town and giant grapefruits to take home. Everyone in the town stared at me... alot smiled and Phuong was shy. It seems that they knew why I was there.. Apparently a girl does not bring a guy to her home (especially a westerner) unless he is the one.

Phuong showed me where she went to school and her local church. She asked her Dad where there was a famous BUddha statue she wanted to show me was, but apparently he said.. "You no Buddha, you church!" She told them Im not a practicing Buddhist but like Buddhism and they are ok with that but asked if I would be happy to get married to her in a Catholic church (haha) and go to church with her when she does.. and I think for her I would.

At lunch time her Dad came home from work (he works at a different place to the shop) and so did one of the unlces.. The women waited till we ate before they did.. although obviously Phuong ate with me and Hop with Mike (Mike was getting drunk fast haha.. they were laughing at him). - (I owe Mike big time for coming with me on my meet the family adventure). After lunch it seems people go to sleep. Its so hot here. They had a big bed in I guess would be the lounge and we were told to go lye down. Everyone else quickly moved so us 4 could go have a sleep.. (obviously I found it a bit strange and couldnt sleep haha). Had to watch it with no cuddling up to Phuong or keeping it pretty minimal haha. Ohhh at lunch it was also a bit strange with their custom... I expected her Dad to sit at the head of the table but instead they put me there.. Phuong was helping me make these little rice paper wrap things and then went to give one to her Dad and he wouldnt take it and said to give it to me. I tried to point it back his way which he then took. Obviously with the language barrier (having to get Phuong and Hop to translate everything) there wasnt much talking but me and Mike know the Vietnam word for Cheers when having a drink so it was really funny cause it would be quiet and the Uncle would then raise his glass every 5 or 10 mins and give a cheers. They all kept looking at me smiling haha.

Then we went and met another Aunty and Uncle who owned a restaurant.. Had pretty much been eating all day though so I didnt want any more food just had a beer.. Mike had 2 or 3 haha. After that it was nearly time to go home. Phuong was sad as misses her family alot and wanted to stay longer. One of her cousins is sick and will probably die soon.. he can only drink milk and is skinny as. Phuong is worried as he just got married last year and has a 3 month old baby. We then all jumped on the scooters and went to the boat. Her Mum and cousin came and when we got there, her Uncle, Aunty and another AUnty were there to see us off.. Phuong taught me how to say "Goodbye, See you again" (forgot it already) and they all waved us off.

Took ages to get home and I got a bit overtired and grumpy. Phuong went to sleep and I went and got a Cheeseburger and beer haha (ahhh normal food haha). TOday we're planning our trip to Dalat. Was going to go get a bus ticket from a travel agent and Phuong slaps me on the arm and says she knows where to get cheap tickets.. (so good knowing locals). The trip is ending fast and I know Im not gonna want to go home. Mike says I should get her a Visa to Aussie but I would rather come back here. She is happy with me coming back to live in Saigon in february (But worried I'll forget her). Knowing myself I hope its not too hard to stay focused. Mike will give me a kick in the ass for reminders and I am going to want to stay in regular contact with her. Mum it looks like you're gonna have a Vietnamese daughter in law haha.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb