Been riding scooters hard!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 31st 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

A few days since my last entry. Me, Mike, Phuong and Phuongs friend Hop (Mikes possible new mrs as he kinda got rid of the other one) went to Vung Tau. It was awesome.. Heaps more fun with them than with the go2 bar girls. We got a place to stay in right opposite the beach. Phuong new a cheap but good seafood restaurant. Was FRESH AS! Then after dinner stopped in at some night club where they had a couple of electro djs playing... (the dj's here in Vietnam are actually really awesome mixers!).

THe club was kinda cool but apart from us there only seemed to be hookers, possibly there pimps sitting around and the staff... We had a few drinks and a good boogy then started walking back.. Was still early - only about 11pm. After that me and Phuong went and played around on the beach (cheesy huh haha).. We left our jandles in a place we could find them and then I noticed people walking around with torches looking for stuff so we quickly had to go get them before they got pinched.

Got up early the next morning and went swimming. Vung Tau is a nice beach but there is rubbish all through the water haha.. I was swimming and then thought a jelly fish or something was in my face but it was a plastic bag haha. I think the locals were a bit surprised at a big westerner like myself walking around in just shorts. Phuong wore shorts and a tshirt. She told me that Vietnamese are a bit judgemental about peoples body sizes and shes a bit self concious as shes a bit chubbier than most girls. But I dont care about that shit myself and she shouldnt either, I think shes hot! haha. (theres that cheese again).

We also found out that our chics get a lot of shit from other vietnamese - they always look and apparently say things like they must be tramps being with westerners. Sad man... One world One people I think!
We didnt get much more time as Phuong had to get to work in the afternoon but If I go back I want to climb this mountain.. They got a massive Jesus statue on top of a mountain looking over the town (kinda like the one in south america). THeres a lot of Catholics here and Buddhists and a Mixed religion of Christianity/Buddhism/Taoism and Confusim (I think).

Me and Mike checked out the war museum.. Really disturbing... Some of the stuff that went on and the pics made me want to cry. Alot of people here affected by agent orange and without all their limbs. And to think that the people who fought in all these wars were younger than me. Sad what people can do to each other. Found out that the North and the South here still have a bit of agro towards each other. Its kinda unspoken but a few of our mates here have mentioned it and pointed out other young people from Hanoi who apparently were up themselves and look down on the south vietnamese..

Went to go get a new tattoo the other day.. A private place in some guys house.. We got jipped pretty hard. Paid upfront (idiot!!!!!) ... Mike went first (this might sound sad but Im kinda glad he did haha) ... it came out shite!! I cruised to meet Phuong and said I was gonna go back the next day but obviously didnt after seeing Mikes finished product... Asked for the money back but getting it would be like pissing into the wind and not wetting your pants haha.. But Id rather loose the money than get something crap on me for life. Mikes gonna get it fixed up in Aussie.

Finally got around to riding on the back of scooters... ITS AWESOME!!! Done it quite a few times now. Guys just stand around offering you a ride.. you work out a price jump on the back and your off! One guy was crazy... it was fun though. Darting in and out of traffic, through the lights, up on the side walk... He was laughing at me - going "Your having fun arent you?" and I was. This morning we all got woken up early by Hop (Phuongs mate) and we all jumped on scooters and went for about an hour ride out of Saigon to the COOLEST amusement park Ive ever seen! Got some awesome pics! There was kind of a sick dark side to the park.. They had kinda walk through things that were about demons and ghosts haha.. Was so hot there at one point thought was gonna collapse! :op /// Im drinking heaps of fluids lately (not so much booze now) - its just always hot and sunny.. havent had any rain like we did for a few days during our first week.

Tonight Phuong is pretty much moving in with me at our hotel. Shes taking me to a mountain tomorrow to see a giant Buddha.. Which is pretty cool cause shes Catholic but knows Im a bit bummed Ive stayed here so long that I havent and probably wont go to Angkor (when I come back ill check it out).After that the next day shes taking me to as she calls "her home country" which is a small town in Mekong to meet her family. I REALLY like her and told her I will be back by feburary. (My Mum says it could just be a holiday romance which Im aware it very well could be but have such a good time with her and want to come back here to teach anyway so why not introduce myself as the boyfriend to her parents? lol).

After that the plan is Nha Trang and Dalat.. Im pretty sure we'll stick to that haha. To anyone following my blog ... it takes soooo long to load pics up I might wait till I get home.. (THanks for the message Gary) - I managed to put 5 or 6 up on facebook and it took an hour and 20 mins - if Im not already friends with you on facebook look me up (stevecwells@gmail.com).



Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb