Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 17th 2008
Published: August 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, first night and day in Saigon has been an experience. Went for dinner and a drink last night just around the area we're staying. Went to a western kinda bar, which is ok for the first night, although at a western style place ordered some vietnamese food (cant remember what it was called) - it was so hot I couldnt end up eating it all haha.. starting sweating and my eyes were watering. Staying at a place called Kims hotel which is run by 3 cool Vietnamese chics.. GOod vibes there and reasonablly priced. The vibe here is a lot different from Thailand. Similar things but its not SO touristy - obviously still a bit but you dont get as many people trying to sell you things (so far) and the ones who do as long as you dont keep eye contact with them they'll move on... Although Ive been a softy today when a couple of young kids came up holding a cup wanting money so gave them some.

Got up early and we just went and got lost... Walked for hours around the city.. saw heaps of cool stuff. The people here seem a little bit more stand offish than my experience with the people of THailand but the ones we did talk to and meet today were really nice genuine people.

THings are cheap here as you'd expect, but one thing Im gonna make sure I do for the rest of my trip and I advise anyone else travelling to any other part of Asia is to barter and MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR THE PRICE FIRST haha.. Got a tour around the city after our walking mission by a guy who wheeled me in a 3 wheel bicycle with a seat on the front... THought it was a bit steep price wise at the end but sweet as. Traffic here is INSANE>.. Although Im kinda used to crossing the road now with a thousand scooters and motorbikes coming at me from any direction - haha didnt take long.

My first day and I already can tell the Vietnamese people are a really prideful people and also very beautiful.. I got told by a guy on the side of the road who smiled at me.. "hello how are you? welcome to our country" which was actually just what I needed to hear, as I was lost, hot and tired and had got evils from a couple (just a couple) of people earlier and there being a much larger language barrier here than THailand I was feeling a slight bit of culture shock for a little bit.. but after that I relaxed and just kept trooping. Felt kinda cool too cause we didnt see any other tourists around so felt like we were checking out the city we're the real people would be so to speak... Really wish Id learnt some Vietnamese phrases first though - our bycyle guides today tried to teach us some but I cant remember them... they were however along the lines of - "your'e very beautiful and will you marry me" haha.. the girls here are extremely beautiful tho :o) haha

Well that was a longer entry than I thought Id write... Might go grab a 60 cent beer and a 1.80 dinner haha.. Dont worry Mum Im a careful traveller :o)

Ciao

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb