Rain Rain Rain


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
August 18th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Went to the Mekong Delta today.. Was pretty cool accept the constant rain, thunder and lightening.. I bought a rain poncho thingy so was a bit dryer than Mike.. haha he was soaked. Note to self.. next visit to Asia do not come during rainy season!!

Probably the coolest thing on the trip to the Mekong today was paddling through the middle of the bush on these canoe things in the pouring rain.. Was like being in a movie haha.. At one point I pictured Arnie jumping out of the bushes going " GO GET TO THE CHOPPER!!" haha..

Oh man ... drunk COBRA WINE today... Actually tasted really good and had the cobras in the bottle.. Bought some SCORPION WINE to which me and Mike had a shot of on the bus ride home.. I dont know if ill have any more of that haha.. Gross!! and Im sure it has some type of hallucinagen in it - my mouth went numb to start with then my face and then everything was pretty surreal haha.. Just on the way to this internet cafe I saw some cobra wine for sale so might get some for the novelty.. keep it on the shelf or see if Phil and Athena are keen for a shot back home haha.

Met a girl from Holland which seemed ok today and a couple of American chics who we might hopefully see later tonight. The nightlife in Saigon is not as cranking as Thailand but thats sweet as.. Ive had 3 people in the last 24 hours asking me if I want marijuana haha.. (of course Im dont want any - dont stress Mum) but Mike hasnt had any - Do I look like a stoner haha.

The trip to Mekong was only $7 .. and we just booked a trip tomorrow to the old Army tunnels which is $6 ... Unbeleivable... Advise to anyone coming to Vietnam... Dont book anything including flights to neighbouring countries before you get here.. Everything here is as cheap as chips... After the tunnels we were told about the local China town in Saigon.. so will check that - although Im not keen on buying souvenirs or anything.. accept I do need a couple of things.. Thought was gonna be all sun and heat.. (although the humidity is hot - and I do think its about 30 degrees) so only really have singlets...

Speaking of wearing singlets - People seem facinated by my tattoos ... they come up and touch them and pinch them.. haha.. One little kid jumped up on a chair and started pinching my arm and hitting my tattoo haha..

Well Im off for food and beer .. cya



Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb