Face


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast
August 24th 2012
Published: August 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Face

I had learned somethings in Thailand that have become more and more helpful as I travel again thought south east Asia. The concept of "Face" is the most glaring of these. I guess it basically translates into social standing. Let's do an example: Bill catches some squid this mornin and happily brings it back to his wife. His wife, seeing his tiny amount of squid throws a fucking hissyfit on the front lawn (she wanted more obviously) and screams bloody Mary at the still smiling Bill . Meanwhile, across the road, a beach restaurant full of people watch this scene unfold. Who loses the most face here? Well Bill and his wife defiantly are the ones but his wife more so because she's screaming and bill is smiling. In most of Asia people don't show anger in public or try to show any fault of character in front of others. If you show anger people will look down on you. We live in a happy world, with happy people, so act happy damnit. Don't take this as negativity on my part. I think a smile goes a long way and getting mad in public at the wrong time is a sign of mental instability (or your just a dick), it can just make certain situations funny. For example: I decided I wanted a new back pack for missioning about with and walked into the shop. Big welcomes, tons of tiny smiling Vietnamese faces. I start to look over the shop, acting like I could buy anything but want nothing, and see the bag I want nestled in the corner. Oh, it's bad ass, lots of pockets, meshy shit and top compartment for my cigs. If Jesus came back as a travel pack, it would be this one. But I keep walking, containing the excitement within. I check out nic-nacs and trinkets and finally, causally ask, "how much for tha backpack?" like I'm sleepy or something. They tell me it's nice, very nice. 1000000 dong. Pfft, a million. That's a night at a resort on the beach with a hunny. I bet the ladies hands who made this in the back room are still sore, it ain't Gucci. So I respond with 100000 and a big smile. Now the smile is key here because I just low balled the shit outa her. Most people would expect to be asked to leave the store back home. Her smile is just a big,"Your crazy!...900000!" Boom she strikes back and I joke an tell her I'm poor, 150000 is as high as it goes. She brings out her kids as a pity vote for her side but still the smiles continue and the haggling goes on till I get her to 350000, finale offer. Things seemed a little heated at this point but the smiles were going strong. As long as you are smiling you could insult her dead uncle I think. So I do the last weapon of bartering, the walk away. Smile, bow your head, give a finale wave good bye, say your finale offer then turn and walk out. When I actually left that store I had a new backpack and was 300000 poorer. I love this shit. Each one of us got what we wanted and no one got angry ( her side prolly gettin the best of it). I promise you though, If there wasn't a smile on my face I wouldn't have gotten half as good of a deal. It's the best when your with folks an they watch you buy the same thing for less. An angry face doesn't go far in asia but a smile will bring you miles.



Another thing, the topic of weight here is not taboo. Back home, you say your girlfriend is getting a little heavy you might as well have castrated yourself. Here, being a little heavy (or very) can be a sign of wealth and, if not too much, attractive as a plus . You obviously have enough money to eat lots of food and not do hard work, how can you not have money and not be a good marriage prospect. People will sometimes come up to you, total strangers, and grab a little belly fat or comment how fat you are. Now I wouldn't say I'm over weight but I would definitely survive longer in cold climates then a super model. My rule is : as long as I don't jiggle when I brush my teeth I'm happy. My friends I'm traveling with are thin though, which I guess makes it like a game of "which one doesn't belong" with some Vietnamese people. This morning, two young dudes are sitting outside a little restaurant/shop and say to me, as I sit with my friends "You rich?" with the innocence of saints. I say no then they point at my stomach and do a questioning face. No laughter, not heckling, just simply a face of 'explain that away, then'.

Advertisement



11th September 2012

Face
Thanks for giving us a couple more blogs. It is always interesting to read about your escapades, Josh!!! Tobey told me you have a job in Vietnam to make a few bucks..........good for you. It was nice to hear from you last month. Hope you are keeping healthy and I know you are happy! Bye for now. Love, Linda

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb