Nam!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
October 10th 2007
Published: October 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Ko Tao, I headed for Krabi in need of a rest after the tough scuba diving course! After a few easy days here, I headed for Phi Phi.

In Phi Phi I took a boat trip - got to do some snorkelling, kayaking, feed some monkeys (island full of monkeys nearby) and a visit to the Beach (the film!). This all sounds pretty cool but there were a few scary moments along the way. While trying to get to the Beach our boat anchored a short swim away from a cave that led us onto the island. As we swam closer to the cave, we noticed pretty big waves smashing against the rocks! Think we all had some cuts and bruises from hitting the rocks! No health and safety here!

In Nam now! Saigon as the locals call it and Ho Chi Minh to us foreigners! Crazy place but I really like it. Traffic on the road is chaos. It seems to me there is absoutely no rules - the taxi man who collected me from the airport held my hand while crossing the road to get to the hotel I was staying at - felt like about 5! Have crossed the road a few of times on my own now!

Went to see the War Crimes Museum, Reunification Palac and visited the Chu Chi Tunnels (underground tunnels used by the Viet Cong during the war). On one of the nights out, I joined up with a group of locals for a few late drinks. Some strange drinking custome over here - Everytime I took a sip of beer, they kept topping up my glass. (no complaints with that one!) They also seem to make a toast every 2 minutes! As you can imagine, was in great shape trying to get home! Great night but felt rough the next morning!

Thats all for now. Will upload a few pics later. Hope all is good.


Ciaran


Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0958s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb