Leave Me Alone!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
October 17th 2007
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again. In Hanoi here at the moment but leaving for Laos tonight. Have I think a 15hr bus journey ahead of me tonight. Lovely jubbly!

I spent the first day in Hanoi walking around with a girl from the hostel just checking out the sites. Went to a few museums and booked a tour to Sapa (near Chinese border).

Sapa is a great place - a must if ever coming to Vietnam. Its almost a 9 hour journey from Hanoi to Lao Cai and a further 30mins on bus to Sapa. I booked a sleeper on the train and so didnt feel the time pass. Spent 2 days here and got to see some great sites and how the local people live their lives.

After returning from Sapa, I booked another trip. This time I went to Halong Bay. Spent the day touring on a boat around the many islands and walking around some caves on the islands. This was another great trip.

However there is one thing that I will not miss (and its not crossing the roads - really enjoy this now!!) everyone is trying to get you to buy something - You want motobike, you want lighter, you want wallet, you want book, you want marijuana - they just dont stop! Have ran into many restaurants, bars, hotels just to get away from them! Thats my only quibble with Vietnam.

Anyway thats it from me. Hope all is well. Will upload photos when I get to a decent computer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb