Day 3 - Orphanage - Mattressman a cometh!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
August 15th 2012
Published: August 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well day 3 now complete. Decided that we would miss the noodle soup today as Mike has the trots and I don't want to follow him. So found a great coffee place - no, not Starbucks but does italian coffee so latte it was for me this morning.

On the way to the orphanage we stopped off to buy a couple of mattresses for the kids. Michelle and Bob had already bought a few pillows from the supermarket yesterday evening so let the fun times begin for the little ones. And in this country the taxis wait while we shop for no extra charge.

We get to the orphanage and the kids go mad for the mattresses as jumping boards. We also note that the Irish ladies have left messages for us on what to do, when and how - not impressed think I am old enough and wise enough to know what to do - but I suppose they only care and I should not be my old sceptical self.

Michelle and Bob go to speak to the gentleman who does all the cooking to find out what he needs and after getting the little blighters to sleep - difficult as they were excited and kept jumping on the mattresses and could not understand these were for sleeping - but hey would you if you had slept on the floor for months if not years!

Anyway, once all a sleep we go off to the supermarket - keeping it in the family it was a Co-op - see we are loyal through and through, ha ha.

After getting what the gentleman wants off we go back to the orphanage and Michelle who is a reception teacher shows us how to show the children how to make bracelets with paper.

So back to the hotel to book the hotel for Delat this weekend - we have booked a room for 2 nights for all of £23 for both of us for 2 nights - that is £11.50 per night for 2 of us and that includes breakfast - last of the big spenders. Just think we have also paid for the 8 hour bus £6 each to get to Delat so we are really the last of the big spenders, ha ha

We need some cash so wise one Paula before we stated travelling has arranged for us to have a FairFX prepaid card courtesy of Martin Lewis for free the PPI man (not my favourite man but hey ho he has come in handy). I have also got myself a Saga credit card as they were doing brilliant deals for spending abroad.

I know you are all saying Paula, how can you get a Saga card you are not old enough!

I know I don't act my age and don't look my age and will accept all the complements you would like to throw at me - but hey ho I am just old enough to have a Saga Card (does Pinnochio's nose grow - as mine is certainly growing right now).

Anyway, Mike gets the money out on the Saga Credit Card - What do I do when I find out he got money out on this - lose my top, shouting "DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH GETTING CASH OUT ON A CREDIT CARD COSTS!!!". Anyway Mike thought the Saga card was a debit card so we have made a pact that using a credit card to get cash out is a no, no. All the money saved on the Delat hotel and bus trip will now have to pay the interest on the cash we have just got out - so I am not best pleased at this moment in time.

Anyway tomorrow we are taking the toddlers to the park as they have never been to a park - we are also getting them there by a taxi so another first for them - just wait till we find an ice cream shop - I am even looking forward to a Mr Whippy - bring it on!

Hope you are all ok.

Advertisement



15th August 2012

Funny
Hey you two, I have just had a chuckle at the image of dragging mattresses around in the heat and watching the children use them as trampolines. I bet the park will be ace tomorrow to see their faces ....... Keep up the good work.
16th August 2012

Mattressman
You bet it was hot - let hope the park is good. Just think 8 little ones between 2 - 5 going to be challenging!
16th August 2012

i'm wondering who will be the most excited - you or the kids hahaha
16th August 2012

Excited
I was more excited, ha ha

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb