Vietnam Day 6 - Day trip to My Son


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » My Son
November 6th 2014
Published: March 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I was picked up from my hotel by a mini bus and we headed west of the city for about an hour.

I had only seen things on the internet about Mỹ Sơn, but didn’t realize how spectacular it would be. It reminded me of photos I’d seen of Cambodia, where I want to go one day.

The big shame was that the American’s bombed the ancient buildings during the Vietnam war, as the Viet Cong used this area for their operations. Some areas still have unexploded ordinance. The heads of the statues are missing, as they were taken by the French and are now located in the Louvre in Paris.

Afterwards we took a boat ride on the river back to Hoi An.

I did some more wandering around the town before heading back to my hotel.



Don’t forget to keep scrolling for more photos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb