Luang Prabang to Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
January 24th 2011
Published: March 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today marks my last hours in Laos. Our flight is this afternoon and we leave for the airport right after lunch. Sally and I paid one last breakfast visit to our neighborhood establishment. The man who owns it, runs it, and cooks everything with his wife is so incredibly kind. And I will never again find such perfect fried eggs and baguettes with a side of fruit and coffee. Being able to sit right next to the sidewalk has provided lots of good people watching.

Upon arrival at the airport, I was struck by how quaint it was.; too bad photos weren't allowed. The check-in counters looked like wooden mall kiosks and there were only two waiting rooms--one for domestic and one for international!

Our flight was 85% empty. But everyone on it had the same story: we'd all gotten the last tickets for the flight. It was quick, clean, and the lone stewardess was polite. But with so many seasoned travelers aboard, I think she was bored. I was impressed that they served us a meal of sorts and drinks for our one hour flight.

Arriving in Hanoi we breezed through customs in five minutes and exchanged
Soy sauce masquerading as maple syrup?Soy sauce masquerading as maple syrup?Soy sauce masquerading as maple syrup?

Really, look at the picture.
our money. It's quite exciting to be a multi-millionaire--too bad it's in Dong and not Dollars. We took a flat rate taxi for $15; it proved to be a very long taxi ride and worth every penny. Traffic is heavier than I've seen in China, but people here obey things like red lights and cars don't continuously create their own lanes. Edward says he read in his guidebook that if you walk out into traffic here, they just make their way around you. This is contradictory to what I'm used to that it baffles me. I can't wait to try it.

Edward, Sally, and I went out in search of dinner (Tom wanted some time to himself) and found an Italian place. It's not how I envisioned my first meal in Vietnam but it hit the spot.

Exhausted, we made our way back, walking around the lake next to our hostel. Because it's Hanoi's 1000th birthday and because it's almost Tet (the New Year) everything is covered in colored lights. I can hardly wait to see the rest of the city!



Our hostel is my favorite so far on this trip. Upon arrival, before we'd
My new favorite condimentMy new favorite condimentMy new favorite condiment

I love this sweet chili sauce on my eggs and baguette.
even checked in, we were offered hot tea, coffee, fruit, and a chance to sit and rest! Our rooms also had fruit baskets with oranges and bananas and cookies. And we have a bathtub, a luxury I haven't seen since I left the US!





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



25th March 2011

Awesome Trip For Me
Again we are thrilled to get your amazing trips, pictures which just make me want to go to all these places, but you take us on journies that you take are just awesome. We just enjoy what you blog. Thank you for your wonderful travelblog that you do and the pictures, we just love it . Can't wait till the next one . We have enjoyed all of them. Keep them coming.
27th March 2011

Airplane photo
Kris, your plane photo cracks me up and reminds me of Asia. Nowhere have I ever seen so many people take their photo in front of the plane as in Asia.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb