Last Day in Luang Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 23rd 2011
Published: March 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I slept late, too cozy to be bothered to get out of bed. Sally and I went for breakfast at a restaurant with a garden; I got the same thing I always get but paid 5000 kip more.

I decided to explore the wat across the street from our guesthouse, Wat Visoun and Wat Aham. The first was beautiful--according to someone else's guide, it has the largest Buddha in all of Luang Prabang. The grounds were lovely but it was a bit strange to see monks doing manual labor. In one corner, I saw a monk leaning out a window and peeling an apple, tossing the peel to the ground. The guide also said the monks get up at 4am every day, have prayers at 5:30, and them alms at 6:30. We'll see if I'm up tomorrow to see them.

Then I walked to the wat on Mount PhuSi, only to find that it was connected with the stupa on top (that I already visited). I sweet talked my way in, explaining that I'd already paid for a ticket last Friday but hadn't seen the stairs to go down the other side of the mountain. I didn't want to pay twice, especially since I knew I'd only be there for a few minutes.

I went to my favorite bakery for another cinnamon bun and coffee and the newspaper. The three of those never fail to make me happy. I enjoyed the sunshine and people watching. The girl at the next table was clearly American and talking so loudly it was difficult to concentrate on my reading.

Nice and warm and toasty, I went back to the guesthouse for a nap in our freshly cleaned room. Upon rising, I walked back for one last view of the Mekong. I finished my book and enjoyed a pineapple shake made with milk and coconut for only 6000 kip! Watching the sun reflect on the water, and the mountains fade into the distance of the sunny haze is simply glorious.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

The RiverThe River
The River

Crossing to the other side of town.
Life on the RiverLife on the River
Life on the River

Not sure if they're washing clothes or fishing or playing.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb