Halong Bay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast
March 13th 2013
Published: March 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Despite 4 hours of sleep I was up for a killer run before Halong Bay. I had to wake people to make my breakfast and there was some hassle about whether I should pay now or later and when nobody had change it was decided upon that later would work. A few hours later we were getting off and hopping on a boat.



It is fair to say the boat looked nothing like the photos we we shown. Sure maybe ten years ago the boat looked like than but now, well when you pick the cheapest tour package what do you expect. But really it was the perfect fit for a group of backpackers.



First up was lunch. I had heard horror stories about the lunch on this trip but the only issue we had was that there wasn't nearly enough of it. I was at a table of five hungry boys and myself who is now an expert stuff my face kinda gal. We devoured the tofu and veggies and fish and whatever else was on the table and our one piece of fruit left something to be desired. But it was all pretty tasty, minus the fact that it wasn't very warm.



Our first stop was the caves. We all got off our boat and walked into the caves that were lit up with disco lights. I mean not literally but they sure seemed like disco lights, blues yellows, greens, and reds it was a bit ridiculous but the cave itself was cool.



Back in the boat we made friends with a group of young English fellows who were quite the characters. We all hung out on the top of the boat chatting it up and before we knew it we were at stop number two, sea kayaking. You had to pay extra to go into the cave and being a cheap skate we just chose to kayak around the area. It was quite beautiful. We really lucked out because the day before the weather had been gross but today was quite nice.



Our last stop for the day was to be swimming. I started out ready to swim but as the sun got lower in the sky, I got colder and questioned wether I was going in. By the top we were nearly at our destination I had no desire at all. But when people started jumping off the boat and into the water I started to reconsider. I looked so much fun, but it was so cold and the water even colder.



To jump or not to jump became the question. When the English fellows had jumped and had said how much fun it was I was very nearly convinced. When the French fellow said your jumping let me get my trunks on it seemed I had no choice. When he had fetched his trunks we stood on the other side of the railing of the boat and I looked down. Damn I swear the boat had gotten taller the second I made it on the other side of the railing. I stared down, so far down. I like to think I'm pretty fearless but between the cold and the height I was beginning to question myself. And that is what convinced me to jump. That and the Frenchman grabbing my arm, counting down and jumping in.



It was FREEZING! But awesome at the same time. I got out glad I had done it but in no need to repeat. Again until the Frenchman returned. It's like he brainwashed me into wanting to jump off scary boats into freezing water. And once more we did just that. Ten I called in a night before he could convince me once more.



Dinner was about the same as lunch, tasty but not enough. One of the guys tried to teach me Chinese Checkers but I failed miserably so instead we went on the roof and checked out the stars. The British boys joined us and then we started on a riveting game of Phase 10. We called it a night half way through and headed off to bed.



I tried to check out the sunrise, but I was misinformed on the time and had pretty much missed it. Breakfast was four slices of white bread and a quarter of an egg, yes just a quarter. I love breakfast so this was a huge disappointment for me.



Back to the city we headed, most of us just relaxing on the roof. In the city we got lunch before making our way back to Hanoi.



Overall for the cheapest package it wasn't too shabby. I made some good friends and when it comes down to it, it is pretty much the people who make a trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb