Tour along the Mekong Delta


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
December 28th 2006
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Scott, Darren, Paula and I start off on our 2 day Mekong Delta Tour at 7.00am its about a 5 hour drive to get there, whereupon we get on a boat to go down the river and which takes us to a stop to get on some smaller boats. We stopped for lunch at a local home, I was very hungry, but to my disappointment again (so far the food in Vietnam has been crap) we had noodles, which are instant noodles and some strange looking fatty meat, which I avoided.
Then off to a coconut factory, which was not exciting but they did serve us some good candy. Back on the boat and we stop again at a rice making factory, absolutely fascinating, so much so that I went round the back and looked at some pigs for ten minutes. Not that I am not enjoying this tour but you do end up feeling like cattle, being directed all day in a big group.
Back to the boat, back to the city and the the city hotel, following a couple of beers and traditional Vietnamese food (Cheeseburger and fries) it was off to bed early as we had another early start - up at 6.30am

The next day we visited the floating markets. Customers cruise the market in smaller boats and the larger boats hang samples of their goods from tall wooden pools. This was a fun experience. I ended up buying a very delicious mango and chatted a way with a man from New Zealand and his son. He was telling me about Seoul (Korea), he did not say very positive things about it. Oh well! I can be tough...

Then it was back we go for 5 hours to Saigon with Scott and Darren. We said goodbye Paula who was off to Cambodia the next day. Goodbye Paula!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



15th January 2007

Great Tour
Maggie, I really enjoyed this one--especially the floating market. How are the insects? I liked your photo on the boat. You look healthy. mom

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb