Christmas in Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
December 25th 2006
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SagionSagionSagion

Merry Christmas
After an eight hour bus ride, I soon learned that I had become target for remarks against the americans. Scott and Darren loved to inform me how loud and obnoxious americans can be. I also became accustom to a new vocabulary like being tired is knackered (except I can't say it correctly). I do have to admit they are right about a few things, their remarks have stereotyped a few americans I have met along the way. This was all in good fun, and I enjoy learning about our differences with humor.
Christmas day was a lazy day for myself. I mainly just wondered around Saigon. Crossing the street was a adventure in of itself. Basically you just start walking into traffic at a constant speed so the moped drivers can predict your moves and go around you. This was very intimidating. Christmas night we went to an Irish pub for dinner, and then head to a corner bar right near our guesthouse. We sat outside to view the chaos of Sagion, which also made us a target for all the people selling things. So every minute or so we were asked do you want to buy a book, postcards, lighter...etc. This was enteraining at first, but soon our conversation only seem to be "No, No thank you". I also met Paula who Scott and Darren traveled with in China, she was very livly. She spoke very fast and was very excited about everything she was talking about. I really enjoyed her company, it was nice to have another female around.
The next day I went on a tour to the cu chi tunnels. I had a very energtic tour guy, who also liked to make fun of americans. Like most tours I have been on, it started off with a trip to some random place so us tourists can buy some unique sovenior. At least it had a bathroom.
Finally we arrived at the cu chi tunnels, and I had to sit through a short movie that was very biased against americans. I did feel very uncomfortable, or as Scott and Darren would say I was squarming in my chair.
It was an ok tour. It was a long day and I feel as though I did not see that much. I did however shoot and M16 (only two bullets). The highlight of the day was crawling through one of
Christmas DinnerChristmas DinnerChristmas Dinner

I had a cheeseburger. It was the best meal so far in Vietnam.
the tunnels. As soon as I entered the person in front of me disappeared in the darkness. I couldn't see and it was very small and dark. I opted for the first exit, it was enough to go 25 meters.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Still hanging out few doors down from our guesthouseStill hanging out few doors down from our guesthouse
Still hanging out few doors down from our guesthouse

Thats Duncon on the left. He's a big drinker and likes the asian ladies. Shocker!


14th January 2007

You look so beautiful and happy! It is so good to see your smiling face!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb