Rest day which ended up being a sick day.


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
December 23rd 2006
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I decided to stay one more day in Phnom Penh and travel to Saigon with Scott and Darren on the 24th. I was exhausted and overwhelmed by the past couple of days and the bus for Saigon leaves at 7:00 in the morning. I also made plans to meet Deb and Nige at noon to see the Russian market and to have lunch.

I met Deb and Nige at their apartment and all three of us jumped on their moped, this was a site, I basically was hanging off the back and holding onto Nige for some sort of balance while wrapping my arms around Deb who was in the middle. I wish I had a picture. We went to a nice restaurant and had lunch. I had the local special. In hindsight, I wished I ordered a sandwich like the other two. Then we were off to the Russian market on the moped. The Cambodians got a kick out of seeing three westerns on one moped and weaving through the traffic.

The Russian market was very overwhelming. It was indoors and packed full of people. I had plans to buy some warmer clothes but being pushed so many times, it was too much. Deb and Nige bought some toys for the orphanage they were going to on Christmas, then we sent off back to their apartment. I opted for a tuk tuk on the journey back.

We relaxed and watched a movie; it was a nice change of pace. But during the movie I started to feel nauseas, I went to the bathroom and puked a couple of times. Deb and Nige were feeling fine, so I just thought it was a fluke. We went to dinner, but the thought of food make me feel sick, so I had to leave early. I was disappointed because we were having a great time, I feel as I have known these two for years.

I arrived back at the guesthouse and tried to request a room with its own bathroom. My current room was one where I had to share a bathroom. No luck, the guesthouse was full. So for the next ten hours I was either lying in bed with cramps and nausea or running downstairs to the bathroom to puke. I felt very far from home at this point.

I got up early on Christmas Eve and set off for Vietnam on an eight-hour bus ride. I was feeling ok but very weak; I was actually looking forward for sitting on the bus for a long period of time. As soon I was on the bus I was out.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb