Into Phon Thong


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 10th 2016
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

Fin was supposed to have been bringing us some eggs for breakfast this morning. We hear her shouting outside our bedroom window at 08:00 and apparently this is her fourth visit trying to wake us up. Guess we must have slept OK !!

With a late start to the morning we are leaving for Phon Thong at about the time we are usually coming back. On the bike I can now see that the road isn't as good as I at first suspected. IT is really bad in places and I will have to take it slow until I can work out a good path through everything.

We do a bit of shopping then bump into George's wife Wan and daughter Maria. Have been promising to buy Fin a bicycle for the last couple of years and haven't got around to it. Being in Phon Thong with her seems like a good opportunity for her to choose a bike she likes and check them for size. Don't think I will be able to carry it back on the motorbike so will need to sort out some transport later.

Back to Khamnadie, unpack shopping then sit down with a cuppa. It is warming up outside now.

I had decided that any work in the garden would have to wait till next week when I may have acclimatized a little but early afternoon I find Jai clearing the stones outside the back door. I make a quick video around the garden so that I can compare an 'after' shot with e ‘before' one later on … hopefully.

About 15:00 the heavens open in biblical fashion. The rain is making the water run out of the house opposite and the road has become a river. I am expecting to see Noah and his ark passing by at any time. We probably get more rain in the next 3 hours than Gloucester has had in the last 6 months. I now know that my quick fix for our leaky roof seems to have almost worked although there appears to be a couple of new leaks just appeared.

Fin leaves about 16:00 and we go to the village market. In spite of the rain, the floods and the mud everywhere the market goes ahead as normal and is just as busy. I am greeted by a few familiar faces.

Early night to bed again. I wake for the loo about 22:00 and remember that I saw football advertised for tonight. Manage about 30mins of Fulham v Birmingham before sleep wins out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb