New works around the village


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 23rd 2015
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

I take Jai to the farm and then bike into Phon Thong for an internet session. It is windy today and there is dust blowing everywhere from the dry ricefields. Hope that Jai's rice is still standing up as its a pig to cut once it falls over - apparently ...
Gloucs get decent win away to La Rochelle and I discover another website that allows me to watch highlights, albeit only 2mins pergame, but ...
Back in Khamnadie I venture to the village hospital on my own. The Doc cleaned me up whilst we discussed world affairs at length. He was a bit confused as to why the French president is called Holland and the English PM Cameroon but apart from that ?!! 5mins after arriving I am biking back to the house, job done for another day.
Khamnadie appears to have acquired some money from somewhere but instead of wasting it on the poor infrastructure of roads, electric and water they are investing it in turning the area around the reservoir into a picnic and relaxation spot - good call. They have built up a wet area besides the main road and are paving it with small block stones whilst they have put a concrete road around the reservoir dotted with small shelters. No doubt this is for everyone who comes here in the evening to exercise ... ha, ha, ha !!! What a waste of money, if they want to people to come and relax here they just need to install a large screen TV ...
Back at the house it is nearly lunchtime and I discover that Jai has left me a bamboo curry that jut needs warming up and I think even I can manage that.
The last few days there has been a noisy party in the village in memory of someone's mother who actually died about 20 years ago. It i my understanding that these parties should take place just after 100 days from the death but due to the cost this time can often drag out ... but, 20 years ?! As part of the celebrations the family appear to have donated a concrete dragon to the village temple ... just what they needed. When I ask I discover that Jai's brother Sai next door and the sloth are responsible for a party for Jai's mum as they took overher ricefields when she died. If she has to wait for them to put on a party I can see another 20 year delay coming ...
I go and collect Jai from the farm at the usual time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.661s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb