Laurel and Hardy in action


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
December 1st 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

Gloucester played rugby on Sunday this week so I guess that it will not be available on the internet by this morning and postpone my trip into Phon Thong until tomorrow.
We go to visit our bricklayer, should really call him a blocklayer or 'blockie' I guess, to tell him that everything is ready for him. He arrives with a chum, hence Laurel & Hardy, a few minutes later and the fun begins.
Brother Sai next door believes that we took some of his land when we built the rice house a few years ago and now wants his pound of flesh back. Consequently the half and half we were going to split the piece of land between the two houses has shrunk a bit on our side. As long as I get a wall up and cant see him or his wife the sloth anymore I am fine - with a few reservations. Anyway, with the commotion that ensues a few neighbours are attracted as well and at one point there are 10 people talking about where our wall should go and what it should look like. I am sat in the background with a cup of tea watching the performance - it is better than Thai TV. They have a short attention span and soon forget why they came in the first place and start to wander off and the blockies get down to business. My only initial concern is that with the narrowing of our gateway it is touch and go whether it will still be wide enough to accommodate a pick-up. Now I never intend to have have a pick-up but if you are making a drive and gateway it would be nice to know that it was large enough to meet all requirements.
Laurel & Hardy do not inspire confidence and it is quickly evident that they havent bothered to borrow the village brain cell for the duration of the job and are going to need close supervision.
By mid-morning I am tired of going over the same things time and time again and Jai is tired of translating when I struggle so I walk away and leave them to it - for now.
By the time they have finished for the day there are a number of issues but as everyone here works in a strange way I will leave them for now and see what develops.
As we are settling down after dinner there is an unexpected shower of rain. I go out to bring in Jai's mat grass and loom then move the cement under cover by which time the shower has stopped. The only thing that is noticeably wet is me !

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb