Back to the village


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 9th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

I manage a few disturbed sleeps en-route to Khon Kaen but the hours sat in this seat are taking their toll. Drive on te Maha Sarakham to Roi Et where we swap to a small local bus - a truck with two bench seats in the back - for the final leg of the journey to Phon Thong where we arrive just before 10:00. According to the mileage chart on my Thai map Chiangmai to Phon Thong is about 900km and it felt like every one of them.
Take a tuk-tuk acros town to collect the bike then as we are alredy well laden we do only the absolute necessary shopping; bread, milk, fried chicken and bananas.
Just carrying the bags into the house when George arrives. He was jus passing on his way to John's for Sunday morning beer when he spotted our bike next to the house. I decline the offer to accompany him needing fod and sleep a lot more than I need beer and conversation.
Jai clears up a bit whilst I unpack then we get something to eat before I strecth out on the very welcoming bed. I actually go to sleep for a couple of hours which is almost unheard of for me during the day and Jai waes me with a cup of tea about 15:30.
Most of what we had planted in the gaden before we left has survived our absence. Where we had been watering before we left has also encouraged the weeds as well and they are really thriving ! I give everything a good watering this evening then early to bed.
Just got settled when Jai's brother Sai from next door comes and disturbs us. He has a questinnaire we need to complete that is being circulated throughout Roi Et province, and I guess nationally, recording details of foreigners staying in the villages etc. Just wants name, passport details and address and although I am not compleely happy about providing this information I guess I have little choice really. If they are only looking for 'farang' who are resident here, being only a 'tourist' should preclude me but ...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb