Get the bike back into use


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 8th 2014
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

I awake at 7:00 to find Jai up and about and almost ready to leave for the temple. Looks like the neighbours have all gone already so she sets off on her own leaving me to self cater for breakfast.
I sit on the fronch porch with a coffee and bring these notes up to date then decide that I need to have a look at the bike and make it roadworthy again. Wheel it out to the front where the sun is sheltered in the mornings and give it a good wash for starters. Put some air in the tyres and at first attempt it nearly kicks in. Try a few more times but I am not going to get it to start. Summon a neighbour who is better at this than me and he starts it up at the fourth attempt. We can now ride and not have to walk pushing the bike to the garage which is great news. I leave the bike with them for a couple of new inner tubes, one new tyre, check the oil and battery and generally give it a good once over.
We leave on foot and Jai starts chatting to everyone we pass and it is goinf to take ages to get back to the house so I leave her to it. I take a detour to go and say hello to George who is not a happy bunny - so no change from last year.
I walk back to the house and find Jai has made it back already and so has the bike. Work complete for about 19GBP.
We try to get in touch with Septic Sam but discover the phone number we have for him is no good any more. Get a new number then find that wherever he is they are not getting a phone signal. Give up until later.
Lunch then after a comparatively stenuous morning I take a rest. The heat and humidity is really sapping at the moment but I hope this passes soon.
I empty all of the books I had stored in boxes in our bedroom and put them back in the cupboards of the TV cabinet. Move more stuff back into the spare bedroom to try and make some space in our room.
Late afternoon we bike out to the farm. Jai's brother Pad and wife Ram are there preparing the ground to plant cassava amongst our trees. This means that they have cleared most of the trees already and we can get a good look at them. They are all looking really good and although I feared for 4 of the trees we planted last year only one of them actually died before the rains came. Jai's brother Sai has taken down the old wooden shelter that was here - at last ! - and it looks as though there will now be room for another 6 or 7 trees in a few weeks time then the area will be full. Pad seesm to think that a couple of the bigger trees are starting to produce fruit flowers but they wont come to anything this year.
Another back garden shower in rainwater upon our return to the house and I am in bed by 19:00 with a book.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb