At work in the garden


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
September 25th 2013
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

No rain !!
We go to buy a small BBQ burner that the villagers use for the majority of their cooking and that Jai uses for dying her mat grass. The one we had disintegrated when we picked we up to move it this morning. I cut up some wood and get the burner going and Jai is off dying her grass again. She soon discovers that she only has yellow dye so I bike to a house across the village to buy some purple and red dyes. It is always fun for me to go shopping for something out of the ordinary and if nothing else it increases my vocabulary !!
Upon my - successful - return I light up a bonfire and cut the last area of long grass in the back garden. Then I sit back with a coffee to watch it burn and to watch Jai work.
With a pile of red grass hung up to dry besides some pretty sorry looking yellow grass she moves on to tidying up the orchids and giving them fresh cocunut husks to grow in. Having divided a number of the bigger ones we now have them hanging from every available branch of our longan tree as well as the bamboo fencing. Hopefully a few more will flower this year.
George visits in the afternoon causing me to neglect my fire which goes out.
Go to say goodbye to Jean-Marie and Bunma who leave for Paris in the early hours of Friday morning but they are not home.
Get back to the house just before the forecast storm arrives with a vengeance. Seriously heavy rain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb