Moving house


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 17th 2013
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

I have decided to have a holiday from the farm today.
Jai's sister Begat is having some work done on her house. Already they have demolished the old concrete and block downstairs. Today they are raising the whole structure to remove the old wooden supporting columns and replace them with new concrete versions. I spend a good hour watching as they attach a series of small winches and pulleys to each of the eight posts. With a man on each winch they slowly raise the house by a good metre until the old wooden posts are completely exposed. When they arrived all of the workers looked brain dead but credit where credet is due they have assembled a clever sytem that seems to work really well. I leave them to mit but when I go back about an hour later I am surprised to see that only have they raised the house but have actually moved it about 3m backwards away from the road. They have finished the moving and I didnt get to see it at all and cant work out how they did it with the set up they have in place.
In the afternoon I take Begat into Phon Thong to get some money from her ATM that her daughter in Bangkok has transferred to pay for the work. She doesnt know how to use the ATM so asks me to take care of it for her. She has written down the PIN and gives it to me on a piece of paper. I take a quick glance and give her the paper back. She insists on me keeping the paper in case I forget the number but I assure her that I will never forget it as long as I live. Nobody belives me as they are always forgetting the number - it is 1234 !! Even I can handle that.
About 18:00 we bike over to the new baby's house to eat with them and wish mother and baby well on their return home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb