Elton John ?


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 6th 2012
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.3833, 103.933

Looking out of the front of the house this morning I see a piece of string dangling from the electric cables that pass us. I am then given another piece of string that has to run from the first piece and is to be tied to our house. Looking along the road I see that every house in Khamnadie is now tied together. Yet more ceremonies etc at the village temple today. I take Jai to friend Wan's house and see that at the corner of the village by their house is a temporary shrine where the string turns the corner. I guess there are a number of these around the village at strategic points.
Jai is off out with some friends this morning going to pick some leaves from trees, grass, etc for lunch ? Did I want to ? No thank you ... Instead I biked into Phon Thong for a slight change of scenery. En-route to Phon Thong we have to pass through a village known as Kamkare which I am told means crocodile in the local dialect. Reckon it must be many a year since anyone saw a croc here but ... Anyway, as ou enter the village there is a large yellow crocodile fashioned out of cement - Thais do love cement !! - sat at the junction of a few roads. Every time I pass this croc I think of Elton John. Not sure if this because of Yellow Brick Road or Crocodile Rock but probably a bit of both.
When I left Khamnadie this morning there were bright blue skies but as I approached Phon Thong rain started teeming down, still from apparently clear skies ?!! Just made it to the internet before I would have got soaked.
With our departure date getting nearer I took the opportunity of booking our coach tickets from Heathrow to home. In previous years I havent been able to complete an on-line booking from Thailand but thistime everythingseems to be in order - or so I hope !! We are due home a little after 18:35 allowing for time to walk up the alley ...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb