Decide to cut my thumb off, well ...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 10th 2017
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

It is particularly cold this morning. TV forecasts that it could get as low as 4-8 degrees although I have never known it get quite that cold here so I doubt it.
Jai repots some old orchids into the new baskets. Half way through she runs out of old coconut husks so, after asking (!), she nips over the fence and acquires some from next door. Whilst Jai is repotting I set about repairing the fence where they hang with the bamboo I brought from the farm a few days ago. Just about finished when the saw slips and takes a lump out of the end of my thumb. Probably could do with a stitch but have had unpleasant experiences at the hospital here so decide to leave it for a while and see. Jai enjoys soaking the thumb in iodine to stop infections. I must be particularly clumsy as almost everytime I do any sort of work here Iseemto draw blood or 'kill myself' as Jai puts it.
Definitely need some more trees cut but now I am injured so ...
This morning was the first time I had been inside the rice house since I got back and was pleasantly surprised to see that there was still about 1 tonne of rice there not yet sold.
Late in the afternoon I do venture to the farm and return with a few more eucalyptus branches.
After we have eaten I decide that a visit to the doctors opposite might be a good idea to get the thumb cleaned up nicely and get a second opinion. She takes one look at it, announces that it is a 'public health' issue and that I should go to the village hospital. The hospital is closed now but she reckons a doctor would come out to see me if I went there. Decide to leave things. I give it a good wash and nurse Jai applies more iodine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb