Orchid basket factory


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 5th 2017
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 16.392, 103.924

Jai bought some croissants in Phon Thong yesterday so we have a change of breakfast this morning; fried eggs, small sausages, fried tomatoes, followed by croissants and jam. Enjoyed it to the point that we have decided to make this a weekly treat on Sunday mornings.
I spend an hour or so at the farm after breakfast cutting some bamboo canes to mend a fence in the back garden. Jai has decided that the orchid baskets that we made a few years back need replacing so I also cut a few branches from some of our eucalyptus trees. Spend most of my time at the farm this morning sat watching the birds. The bike isnt really made for transporting cargo so I hide the bamboo canes in the long grass and just bring back the eucalyptus.
Upon my return we set up the orchid basket making factory outside the back door. Jai marks off how long she wants each piece, I saw the branches up, then Jai nails them together before adding the wire hangers. We manage 3 1/2 baskets and I will need to cut a lot more yet before we are finished.
Sat on the front porch after lunch I spot what looks like a small bees nest in the roof above the door. Jai tells me that this sort o fbee/wasp doesnt make honey but it doesnt matter because if I knock the nest down she will eat the babies. Excuse me if I dont join in, or even watch ! Thankfully there are plenty of bees here so I dont feel guilty about destroying the small nest and even better, it was old and dry and there was nothing there to eat ... what a shame !
Late afternoon I bike to the farm to retrieve the bamboo that I cut this morning.
Last stop of the day is a trip to friend Wan's to get some more mat grass for Jai. She is definitely working too quickly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb