Thea... Life on a Superyacht


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 24th 2014
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 6.54652, 100.064



Thea... what a stunning boat.

I can't believe I have even set foot on a massive superyacht never mind becoming great friends with Jamie and Julie who own it, and being invited to stay. They are such funny, loving, genuine people and made the whole experience magical.

Life at Royal Langkawi Yacht Club has been the most incredible experience, and I still need to pinch myself at some of the wonderful experiences I've had and the kindness of the people I have met.

After buying the boat in Greece, they shipped it to Thailand for a total rebuild and ended up in the boatyard for two years. Employing many staff and having strict deadlines they finally sailed out on a test run which brought them to Langkawi where I met them through my friend Neil. Neil had been in the boatyard at the same time as Thea having some work done, but they ended up neighbours when Neil arrived in Langkawi on his boat Scarlet which is how we became friends (well he's a guid Scotsman you know).

Needless to say with the scale of the rebuild of Thea they would find teething problems which is all part of life on a boat.
Although many of these have been resolved, they have returned to the shipyard for the final touches, the boat is like an absolute palace and I can't believe the actual size of it. With a stunning lounge, dining area through to the galley, they have a fabulous living space. On top of this they have several beautifully fitted out en-suite cabins, stunning outside seating areas, a swimming pool which lowers from the back deck, plus the largest cleanest engine room I've ever seen.

But all this being said, what makes the boat is Jamie and Julie. They're fantastic attitude and humour, and their kindness of inviting me onboard to stay, making fabulous meals and enjoying every second of their company. I had a huge cabin up on the bridge and was encouraged to treat it as home from home which I loved.

'Wildest' dreams would never have had me staying on a boat like Thea... what an incredible journey this is truely turning out to be.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



6th August 2014

what a gorgeous boat!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb