Aaarrgh.... it's a Pirate Wedding


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
July 21st 2014
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 6.32, 99.85


Ooo what fun we had... Joe and Anita, (my neighbours on the marina) decided to tie the knot with a Pirate themed wedding. It all started with my brother Eddie's joke, 'Why are pirates called pirates? Coz they aaarrgh... har har'. Once the idea was set in motion, Anita, Joe and I set about getting every ones pirate names for the wedding using an on line Pirate Name Generator which was hilarious.

With the groom Joe 'Sword Jugglin' Ted', bride-to-be Anita 'Gorgeous Connie Smythe' and me 'Filthy Sophie Smythe', we set about getting everyone's pirate names for the wedding. Anita's daughters Karina 'Pirate Kate the Parrotless' and Louise 'Cap'n Jen Beerbong' were due to visit for a few weeks from Denmark, so it was a lovely idea to have the wedding while the girls were here although it was a long tiring journey for them. They embraced the whole pirate theme and looked fantastic on the day.

We were in stitches gathering the names and made out tags for all the guests with their pirate names, from Jelly Wrist Wallace, Calico Jim Scabb, Pirate Logan the Hatless, Barnacle Breath Casey, Nervous Maurice Smythe, etc. it was hilarious and strangely enough
some of the names suited the personalities. Being the only 'Filthy' on the list I decided to go as a wench and tried my best with an outfit and a night of flirting, but some of the outfits were just hilarious, Ian 'Sea Monkey Jude' in particular was great as a wench, and Johno 'Drownin Billy Slasher' was the coolest pirate of all.

I went with Anita and the girls to get ready at a hotel in Cenang before making our entrance at 'Mangoes' where the wedding and reception would be held. We had fun getting organised and the girls both looked fantastic in their pirate outfits and Anita looked beautiful in a stunning yellow dress and lovely bouquet. Before we left the hotel we got a quick photo with 'Marilyn' before jumping in a taxi out to the reception. All the other guests met at the yacht club bar and were coached out to the reception so no-one would be driving and could relax and have a fun night.

Seeing all the pirates and wenches waiting for us was fab and I'm pleased that everyone made the effort and joined in the theme of the wedding, they really are a great crowd, I never ever thought I'd be living on a yacht and hanging out with these fascinating, interesting people.

The ceremony was conducted by one of my friends Luan who has lived in Langkawi for a number of years and from my first arrival last year we've been great friends. The ceremony brought a tear to a few eyes with Joe being the first one to go... it was really touching and heartfelt and beautiful to be a part of. With vows said and a ring on her finger, they sealed it with a kiss.

A few speeches were made and I was so touched when Anita called me up and presented me with a beautiful gift of a necklace for my help with things before the wedding. We have become firm friends and I really feel that Joe and Anita have adopted me as one of the family, with our coffee mornings and shenanigans they have been such great fun to be with and it was such a heartfelt gesture that it had me welling up. Thank you Joe and Anita for everything, your friendship really means so much to me.

A glass was raised, and a toast to the bride and groom kick started a night of great fun and laughter, and getting round all the guests to see their outfits was hilarious. A huge buffet was laid out of salads, veggies, proper spuds, pastas etc. and roast pork with proper cracklin was the perfect touch, (you've no idea how hard it is to get pork in a Muslim country and I don't know how they did it)! After everyone had their fill of food, it was time to cut the cake and I managed to get the staff to take a picture of all the pirates and wenches with the happy couple which was nice.

So the evening continued with much hilarity and a great time was had by all, ending up on Joe's boat in the marina until the wee small hours! So congratulations Joe and Anita, may you have a long and happy life together filled with love, fun, and great times. I love you both x



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

The 'girls'The 'girls'
The 'girls'

Well... and Ian


3rd August 2014

Can't believe that's your first post since April! And if you hadn't added "me" to your photographs I don't think I'd have recongnised you! You dress up well .
3rd August 2014

Ha ha, thanks Malcolm... yep I've been slacking on the blog front but I'm playing catch up now, more blogs to follow!
3rd August 2014

She is too good for you mate!!!!!!!Congratulations and wishing you both every happiness for the futureLove Pat and DaveIf we had known we would have come over!!!!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb