3 minute exercise to change your life


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
June 19th 2004
Published: June 19th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Zenning IN:  The last time I had one of these episodes, I was sitting in winnipeg and my dad had a 3 minute talk with me and long story very short, I moved to vancouver and lived on my own for the next 11 years.
Zenning OUT:  So I am on my way out of Phuket town and was hounded by taxi's and tuk tuk's for 200 baut.  I fianlly found a bus that toke me to Karon, decided last minute not to go to patong, not my style for 20 baut.
This one guy, darren almost missed the bus and he sat with me.  We were the only travellors so we chatted it up for about 3 minutes.  Darren is a fitness instructor and was based in Japan for a year but his home was richmond, BC.  He has worked the last 4 years outside canada and loving it.   By chance we both stayed at the little mermaid, THANKS CHRISTA for that recommendation, it rocks.
We decided to meet up later that night.  Darren had a motor bike so he toke me somewhere pretty far away from the tourist area.  It was on the hill tops of Kata/Karon and the scenery is just spetacular.  He wanted to bring me and suprise a friend of his, Yeung and Shanan who owned a bar/cafe call the music cafe.
We got there and this place just blew me away. I toke some pictures but it really doesn't do it justice.  If you want to have an idea how this palce was, just think of the most funkiest place you've been to on commercial drive and crossbreed taht with the nicest place for scenic in kits and you have Yeungs music cafe.  It was like this place hidden away from everyone and only the locals knew about it.
This night has been nothing but amazing.  I met alot of the local business owners that night because they came to Yeungs to jam.   But I was also treated meeting Glen who documented his 30 day trek into the Himalayas, it was like an A&E footage.  It was pretty insane watching this and just sitting behind me was the man himeself who did this trek.  He plans to sell this to A&E or some similiar network that does these sorta things. 
Also met another guy Jasper who is a photographer and he basically travells all over the world and take pictures of beautiful things and advertisers can go on his website to download a picture or short movie clip for their advertisement.  It's quite brilliant how creative these ppl are in finding a market for their own talent. 
And then there was Noe, this guy is like the guy from Office Space.  He has been in Phuket for 2 years now, he doesn't work, he doesn't go out, he is the biggest beach bum you will ever meet.  I asked him if he wanted to go down to karon with me and he said he doesn't leave Kata and he just hangs out at yeungs at night.  I have to admit, Yeung's palce is short but amazing.  You aer here and this place is designed so well, with so much character that you completely forget where u are.  I cn't really describe it, tyou just had to be here and see for yourself.
Shanan said it best, 6 years ago she was only goign to stay in Phuket for a year and now 6 years has passed.
Even the waiters are funny - Guy and Boy that's their name, and they are the biggest druggies.  They don't drink or smoke but they do opium and anything you can press, pop, swallow, rail etc.  Of course meeting these two, I have now got a pretty good connection to bud in Karon. 
Everyone tonight had such a great story to tell and sorta mentored me with each of their experiences.  Like I said, 3 minute excerise taht can change your life.  All started off havign a simple 3 minute chat with Darren. I won't bore everyone with the rest of the night, but it was the most single amazing night for me this year. 
Note to Colin:  I pretty much was in the "present" moment for a good 6 hours and it's pretty powerful. No past, no future, just pure present. 
So afterwards it's late and Darren wants to stay out.  We headed down to patong on his bike and I was overwhelmed by the sex in this place.  I literally went from a place with so much spirtual vibe to sex in the city.  It was such a jolt, everywher u look girls, lady boys whatever they are are dancing on tables.  We were trying to fidn some foreigners to party with, it' s nice to hang with Darren b/c we both have the same taste in women.  We met up with these aussies, 4 of them and they were jut tanked.  Darren doesn't drink a whole lot and he had to drive me so I couldn't get too wasted out of respect.  But boy, it was a fun night partying and at 2 this place shuts down and there is this other place call safari which is an after party. We decided against and went to eat at pizza hut where Darren had to provoke this huge group of lady boys sitting outside the restuarant.  He is proud at the fact he can tell the diff but I don't care, I rather jsut stay from all the asians here.  Tell me the road to australia and I will follow it =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb